Skip to content

“Veggie Masala” and Summer Fun

June 18, 2011

So, as you all know, I LOVE food. Really really love food. Indian food happens to hold a special place in my heart and tummy. When I lived in Fiji we ate Indian food all the time. Many people don’t know that about 40% of the population of Fiji is Indian. There is yummy Indian food everywhere. I had never really had it before and instantly fell in love. One of my favorite flavors is that of a sauce many people make out of masala.

This weekend James and I took the boys to the Dekalb Farmer’s Market. We have been there a bunch of times since living in Atlanta but one of the main items that we buy there is coconut oil. They have the best/cheapest coconut oil that we have been able to find anywhere. We searched all over the internet and for about a year even ordered it off of Amazon. Until we found it  at Dekalb. You get a HUGE tub of extra virgin coconut oil for $7.99. Holla! This time around we bought 7 of them so we could take some to friends when we go back to TN to visit in a week or so.

Also got some extra spices this time around because they are seriously so cheap. I got some masala spice and decided to try my hand at making the sauce myself. In the kitchen last night I began my experiment not knowing what to expect. I don’t often look up recipes of things I am trying to make. If I know what it is supposed to taste like and know the basic ingredients I typically just wing it. So that is exactly what I did. Knowing that the sauce that I have had in restaurants has a cream base I decided to use coconut milk as well as a splash of almond milk. Most people probably use heavy cream but lets face it, folks. It may taste good but…that is not on the road to health. So with a little coconut/almond milk mix in the pan I added about 3 tablespoons of tomato paste, followed by two cloves of garlic that I pressed. Then I adde about one and a quarter teaspoons of the masala spice and a little bit of paprika. I also added about a teaspoon of coconut flour to thicken it  a more. I also added a touch of sea salt and pepper. Then I cooked some veggies and potatoes. I put the sauce over a mixture of potatoes, sweet potatoes, broccoli, and peas. Oh, and I shredded a touch of raw cheese on top to make it a bit creamier. It was soooo good. James devoured it and told me I had to make it again soon. It did not taste exactly like it does in the restaurants, but it definitely worked! Do you guys have any Indian dishes that you have perfected? What are the recipes?

Oh, and here are some fin shots of the boys from the last week or so. Now that James and I are out of school for a few weeks we have been having some super fun time with the monkeys. What a blessing they are.

This little man’s favorite thing is to spin the tires on my bike. He seriously will stand there all day spinning them. Two nights ago I turned around and he had climbed his little butt onto the rocking horse to spin the tire from a new spot!

Don’t let his serious face fool you, he is quite the swimmer. They both hate getting out of the pool.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    June 18, 2011 9:19 pm

    Aw your boys are so cute. I LOVE Indian food. When I was in Singapore, I was just shovelin’ it in!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

