Skip to content

My Two Favorite Men

June 19, 2011

I am quite blessed and honored to know the two most amazing daddy’s on the earth. One of them, my dad Sam, raised me up to be the woman I am today. The other, my sweet husband James, has only been doing the whole daddy thing for two years, but I guarantee you that he ranks up there with the best of the best.

My precious dad did not have the greatest example of a father. When my dad was thirteen his father left to go to the grocery store and he never came back. His father had chosen to abandon my dad, his mom, and his sister. When I was in elementary school my dad was going on a business trip to the town that he last knew his father had been. He started making calls to see if he could meet with him, and found out that he had passed away a while before that. Needless to say, my dad did not have someone there for him through highschool to cheer him on when he played football and baseball. But, let me tell you something. He never missed one of my brother’s baseball games or one of my swim meets. He would sometimes even reschedule his business meetings so that he could come and cheer us on. My dad is the nicest man on earth who has never met a stranger. He and my mother together have taken in many of my brother’s friends when they needed places to stay while attending MTSU. Dad has been like a second father to so many of me and my brother’s friends. He loves to learn about people’s lives and then he is their biggest supporter. I’m so blessed to have such an amazing example of love, hard work, support, faith, kindness, generosity, creativity, and humility. Not only has he been the best daddy ever, but he is also a rockstar grand dad. The boys call him either Big Sam or Captain Sam. He even changes dirty diapers. Amazing.

And James, I mean what can I say? The guy steals the show as the number one parent in this household. James is one of the busiest, most intelligent, hardest working people on the face of the planet yet finds a way to spend as much time as he possibly can with Jude and Tiago. I know for a fact that the reason he is doing all of those things, is for us and especially the boys. I have never in my life seen a child love their daddy as much as Tiago Lucas Beuerlein loves James and I think that there can be no greater way to measure what an amazing daddy he is. He also changes diapers, plays drums and guitar with them, walks around like a gorilla on all fours, and so much more. This is the kind of dad who on his day off from school when his wife is sick in bed could take the boys to daycare but instead chooses to keep them home and play with them all day long knowing that I wouldn’t be able to help at all. James always knows the right thing to say, he never loses his temper, teaches the boys how to do things instead of just doing it for them, and makes sure to lay hands and pray over each of them every night before bed. This man cried the first time he ever had to discipline Tiago because he didn’t know what it felt like to have to be stern with our child. I am a lucky lucky duck. Oh and did I mention that he does all of his awesome fathering in Spanish? Yeah. Super hero.

I could say sooo much more about both of these men, but I will leave it at that for now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All photos in the post were taken by Carah Ellis Reynoso

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    June 19, 2011 11:58 pm

    Cute post :) Both of your two favorite men seem like total rockstars :)

  2. louiseinskottorp permalink
    December 12, 2011 5:07 pm

    Tears! Good grade ;). Enjoy the men while you can and be proud that you have the decency to be thankful over them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

