Skip to content

Zucchini & Squash Casserole Masterpiece

July 7, 2011

Sorry it has been so long. I always have intentions of blogging while we are on a break from school and it just does not happen. We had a great break. We stayed in Atlanta and just kind of relaxed for a week before going to spend time with friends and family in Nashville for nine days. We just got back to Atlanta yesterday and it is time to get back in the swing of things. The theme of this season is “NEWNESS”. The boys both moved up into new classes at school today ( tear.) We are moving into a new apartment on Wednesday and will be getting a new roomie who will live with us for a few months. We also start our new quarter of school on Monday. There are a lot of fresh things going on and it is exciting. Kind of hard to believe that we have been here for a year already.

We spent the 4th with my family this year and my mommy made a super yummy casserole with veggies from her garden. She sent me home with tons of garden fresh goodies so today I made her zucchini/squash casserole but chose to one up her on the healthiness of it. Hers was a typical southern casserole. The kind where many people think they are eating something healthy because it has squash in it, but in all reality it is not very nutritious at all because the poor veggies are stripped of their nutrients and drowned in a vat of pasteurized dairy in the form of cream, cheese, and who knows what else. Here is what I did:

* preheat oven to 350

* rinsed and chopped 4 medium sized yellow squash + 1 large green zucchini

 

* chop 2 serrano peppers (also from my mom’s garden) and half of one large red bell pepper and add them to the mix

* toast 2 slices of Ezekiel bread then crumble them into the bowl

* mix in two eggs

* add some seasoning. I use Bragg’s Sprinkles + a little sea salt and pepper

*****Then I added some mushrooms and duh duh duh….KALE ¬†just to piss off the people who get squeamish at the sight of healthy things. ***** You know the people who are all…” Ugh, you put kale in your smoothie. I bet that is sooo disgusting. I make mine with strawberries, sugar, milk, etc etc etc and it tastes so good.” ¬† Whatevs.

 

* anyways, back on track. Then I tossed in about a half a cup of almond cheddar

* then poured about a half a cup of almond milk

* mix it all up and pour the mixture into a greased pan

* sprinkle a bit more cheese on top

* throw in oven for 30 minutes and DONE!

This was seriously one of the best things I have made in my kitchen in a while. I served it with a chicken breast and side salad. James and I both ate every single bit. Excited for leftovers tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 2:36 am

    “Kale? Isn’t that what restaurants use as a garnish? And you eat the garnish? Gross!”
    Hehe-yep. I’ve heard it all :-P
    But this looks AMAZING! I always need new recipes for squash and zucchini in the summer.

  2. July 8, 2011 3:06 am

    This looks delicious! I have trouble getting my family to eat squash or zucchini – they don’t even like the sound of those vegetables! This should do the trick. I’m glad you showed a picture of the almond cheese. You had mentioned it before and I haven’t been able to find it. I will go look again.

  3. Brandi permalink
    July 10, 2011 6:12 pm

    This looks good …Im going to try to make this! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

