Skip to content

A Beuerlein Fave With a Twist

February 11, 2011

Chili! We looooooove chili in this house.  I love that I can just throw some ingredients in the crockpot, walk away and have an incredible yum-o meal. Healthy too. I do not typically measure any of the ingredients I throw in, and I am sure you have your chili recipe perfected anyways. So, I will just tell you what some of our secret ingredients are, starting with…..Cauliflower. Yup. I chop the whole head, steam it, and then throw it into our Vita-mix with about a teaspoon of butter, pinch of sea salt, and some cracked pepper. It comes out fluffy and perfect.

Our other special ingredients are toooons of veggies. Now, don’t get me wrong. We are not vegetarian and our chili is very BEEFY, but besides the beef and beans we make it very vegetable heavy. Tons of carrots, celery, and onion go into the crock pot.I have to cut the onion in HUGE chunks. I like the flavor, but I don’t enjoy biting into them so I pick them out. Also, a clove or 2 of garlic. On a side note, I would say that my garlic press is one of my favorite kitchen utensils of all times!

Also, mushrooms. Don’t forget the mushrooms.

Once the chili is ready to eat. We cover the bottom of our bowls with the cauliflower mix. Pour the chili on top. Then we add more veggies and STUFF. We always chop up some red peppers, avocado, olives, cilantro, and almond cheese to put on top. The end product tastes delish and soooo fresh!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 2:11 am

    Wowzers–that chili looks so good! I love that you put fresh veggies on top after it’s been cooked.

    • February 13, 2011 2:58 am

      I soooo prefer chili with some life to it. Ya know? With the fresh veggies it just can’t get much better.

  2. Ashley permalink
    February 14, 2011 2:15 am

    Can’t wait to make this, yummmm!

Leave a Reply

