Skip to content

My 3 Sweet Valentines

February 15, 2011

Yesterday, as I was thinking about Valentine’s past I remembered some pretty funny and scary times in my life. Growing up, I always wondered why boys were not interested in me. I had one boyfriend in high school and looking back I think it was mainly because I pursued him and it was convenient. My best friend was dating his brother so the four of us made sense. However, I did not have boys chasing after me like many of my other friends did. I remember one year in particular wanting to get invited by a certain boy to a certain dance. I waited and waited and waited for him to ask me. Turns out he asked one of my best friends instead. Ouch. Moving on to YWAM and college I would experience similar things. Boys just were not interested. Seems silly now, but as a young lady I remember mulling it over and over in my head. “What is wrong with me?” “I am ugly.” “All of the other girls have boys calling them and taking them on dates all of the time.” Yada yada yada.

For two years in a row now I have had not one but THREE valentines. Wow oh wow what a blessing. As it turns out, God had an amazing plan for me and I had no clue! James, my favorite man on earth is mine. As if that weren’t enough, he loves me well, thinks I am beautiful, honors me, supports my dreams, is the best daddy on earth, and follows the Lord with all of his heart. Then there are my little bitty valentines. Nothing compares. Tiago and Jude make every day brighter. I want to shower them with love every day of the year. I mean look at them, wouldn’t you?

Thank goodness God did not let me settle for anything less than James and our amazing boys.

P.S. shout out to the Dollar Tree for making it possible for a family living off of student loans to buy fun presents for the boys! Tiago wanted to wear his glasses to school.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 6:45 pm

    I love you, baby. I’m so lucky to have you!

  2. cara permalink
    February 16, 2011 6:00 am

    so glad you have a blog…i’m kinda obsessed with blogs and with you, so the two mixed together are like the best thing that’s ever happened to me!

  3. Emily Isabell permalink
    February 21, 2011 1:47 am

    HAHAHAH i am laughing because I know some of those boys you dated… 🙂 your family is the best, i want a jude or a tiago!

    • February 21, 2011 1:53 am

      Bahahaha! Yes, Emmers I would say you know them better than anyone. Crazy how I thought I knew everything back then. Some pretty awesome memories of those days for sho’.

Leave a Reply

