Skip to content

What is Your Favorite Way to Sweat?

February 19, 2011

I LOOVE to exercise. As a matter of fact it is one of my favorite things to do. I have been active my whole life. The crazy thing is that now at age 25, even after having had a baby, I am in the best shape of my life. BY FAR. About a year and a half ago James and I transformed our lifestyle. We started eating a lot better and exercising better and more. I was pregnant at the time so it seemed like a crazy time to make these changes, but I was determined to do it not only for myself, but for Jude. It was during this time that I found my two favorite ways to exercise. A lady at my church sent out an e-mail that she was opening a studio and would be teaching a method of fitness using a ballet barre. I was clueless at the time about how amazing Suzanne Bowen (she was recently featured on Good Morning America) was and I was extremely curious about the method. In the first class I took my whole body shook from the challenge of the positions and movements we were doing. It was exactly that challenge that kept me coming back for more. I have now been doing barre for over a year (at both Barre Amped and Pure Barre studios) and can not even begin to tell you all of the changes I have seen in my body. It is a low impact exercise using small isometric movements and stretching to create long and lean muscles. Since high school I had always been upset with my cottage-cheese butt and thunder thighs. Within just a month or so of barre classes everything was tightening up! So much so that even my husband noticed and made unprompted comments about it. Amazing! I also began doing bursts of cardio. We learned about this from our chiropractor, Dr. Josh Axe (who just so happens to be one of Nashville Lifestyles Most Beautiful People, and he is single! just sayin’ ladies.) Burst training does not take up a ton of your time. Carve out about 15 minutes. Then pick a few exercises examples would be push-ups, running in place, mountain climbers, squats, jumping jacks, etc, etc. Then do a rotation like this: Do one of the exercises for 30 seconds at your maximum level, like a sprint, as hard and fast as you can. Then rest for 30 seconds doing nothing. Do all of the exercises in your list like that then rest 2 minutes before doing the whole set again. You can do this 3 or 4 times but odds are if you actually are going full out about 3 will be your max. Your muscles will be getting a maximum workout in a short time. I do barre multiple times a week as I am currently teaching at a Pure Barre studio. I also do about 3 burst cardio exercises a week. I love my fitness regimen so much that I have not burnt out on it. I love challenging myself more and more with each exercise. What types of exercise make you feel this way? I want to know. Leave me a comment telling me your favorite exercise and why and be entered to win Suzanne Bowen’s newest DVD, Gorgeous Core. It will rock your world. I will choose a winner on Tuesday!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 12:30 pm

    I love to do human dead-lifts! Though, not usually with “dead” humans. I typically do it in the form of a clean-and-jerk with about 35 lbs (that’s a 1-2 year-old if you’re using the metric system). In a given day i’ll do anywhere from 6-10 thousand reps. I haven’t noticed many visible changes in my body yet, though it does tend to make me feel… older. Anyway, I hope that my workout inspires others because I’d LOVE to win that DVD!

  2. Amber permalink
    February 19, 2011 2:40 pm

    One of my favorite ways to sweat is trail riding. When I can get lost on a challenging trail with my mule I can push myself. I use my core twisting and turning after the ride I always feel like I’ve done 6 million crunches. I also get to hang on with my thighs (sounds a little creepy) they keep me on so I have to keep tension the whole time so later it’s like running a long way. My arms get a workout just getting me and my mule ready then hauling my butt into the saddle. Then once on the trail I can enjoy nature that G od gave us. I can breathe fresh air and let go of my stresses. I love it plus I get dirty and what’s not fun about dirt.
    In bad weather a resort to tae Bo and biggest loser cardio max. Good workout but not near the fun value!

  3. Margaux permalink
    February 19, 2011 2:50 pm

    I love zumba!!

  4. Meg permalink
    February 19, 2011 6:10 pm

    If there is an example of making muscle lean it’s you!! I am doing a lot of weight machines right now trying to strengthen my shoulders since they are WEAK! currently looking for a good tummy and back workout so that DVD has my name allllll over it! Love you!

  5. February 19, 2011 9:12 pm

    Love, love, love BarreAmped!! I bought Gorgeous Core before we left and ripped it to my computer so I could work out while traveling. So far it’s been fantastic!

    I’m seriously considering getting certified to teach when we get back, so I need to have a chat with you about it 😉

  6. Sydney Calhoun! permalink
    February 19, 2011 11:53 pm

    Abby, I’m so glad you are writing a blog! I love reading about what’s going on in your life! My favorite exercise is hula-hooping!
    -Sydney Calhoun

  7. Tricia S. permalink
    February 20, 2011 11:18 pm

    Unless you are guiding us in a very organized, methodical way, my work outs consist of lots of random plyometrics- jump ups, planks, leg lifts, etc. . . I try to mix in a walk, or run, or tennis for cardio.

  8. Emily Isabell permalink
    February 21, 2011 1:41 am

    ABBY! I wish I could say I had favorite exercises… but as of right now, I don’t. I want to get into better shape and I am trying to eat better with the help of my momma! I really just wanted to leave a comment so you know I read your blog! 🙂 You are SUCH an ecouragment to me in how you live your life (fitness and wife and mother wise) and I think you look amazing! LOVE

  9. Tanya T permalink
    February 21, 2011 1:57 am

    LOVE Muscle Mag. for women workouts. They are excellent at combining both upper and lower body weight lifting that inpact even the most regular lifter. They always provide me with something new and challenging that allows me to tone in a different way. (Now if only i could get the eating under control at the moment and i’d look awesome) Also, HIT (high intensity training) for my cardio burst – though yours sounds great! Hmm, but your video looks like something worth trying…

  10. lillianb permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:06 am

    just about the only type of exercise i can do is a class – and right now i am loving zumba, though i don’t go enough!

  11. Karissa permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:48 am

    I like exercise but it is missing from my life right now! I need quick stuff! What you have written about sounds AWESOME. I’m loving that you are blogging!

  12. ambra harris permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:15 am

    I just got back on the exercise train… been doing burst training (mostly running) workouts. Love it so far! I need to do a lot more though. Love your new blog! I wanna win this!! 🙂

  13. natalie permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:26 am

    i am loving bob harper and jillian michaels workout videos currently. they have gotten me so toned compared to my old routine of running on the treadmill. i also love doing jump training and intervals to help boost my heart rate and get rid of fat quicker! i am loving the blog abby, so good!

  14. Andrew P. Ellis permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:43 pm

    I’ve been doing a bit of weights stuff. Its a win win though cause it’s strengthening my shoulder which will hopefully kickthe tendinitis in the butt while also getting me muscles. Also been enjoying some good manual labor which I have found to be super intense workout. Starting p90x as soon as my friend gets the rest of his stuff in.

  15. February 23, 2011 1:56 am

    I really enjoyed reading about everyone’s favorite way to exercise. I definitely think one of the main keys to being healthy and fit is finding something you enjoy. Just staying active is the main thing. Thank you all for sharing. I will be doing more giveaways soon.

  16. http://andcarinsurancequotes.com permalink
    March 20, 2012 7:52 pm

    Absolutely pent subject matter, Really enjoyed looking at.

Leave a Reply

