Skip to content

Guilty Pleasures: AKA “Nugget Trays”

February 27, 2011

So I am waaay high on life today and kind of in a goofy mood. Maybe it is the endorphins from my burst cardio this morning that nearly killed me. Or just the excitement of knowing that God is good and He is teaching me so much right now that it is blowing my mind. Just thought I would get that out in case this post is hard to read. I am typing like 43974897982 words a minute because of the funny mood I am in.

People ask James and I all the time questions like this “So, you eat really healthy but do you ever like go to McDonald’s or something?” (which sometimes makes me vomit in my mouth a little bit) or “Don’t you miss eating X, Y, or Z (insert some form of processed food full of chemicals)” “Did you make the change over night?”

Here is what’s up…We are not freaks. We eat really well. I mean really well………98% of the time. However there are days when we do eat some of these things. I have a lot of guilty pleasures. (This post has nothing to do with my obsession with my 1990’s Pandora station that is entitled “Spice Girls”, but I feel the need to mention it since I just used the words “guilty pleasure”. Don’t judge. I don’t judge you for listening to country which I hate all except for Taylor Swift of course.) Back to the food stuff, Every now and then I will get a hankering for something really nasty like greasy pizza from Jet’s or a cinnamon roll. What do I do when this happens? Sometimes I give in. But I have to be honest and tell you that now over a year and a half in to the healthy eating thing I do not have these cravings nearly as often as I used to. I also have transformed my mind and am able to overcome them more times than not. James and I have amazing recipes that are similar to almost all of our guilty pleasure foods. We make our own gluten free pizzas with almond cheese, and tons of veggies. We makes burgers with grass fed beef and use lettuce for the buns, we make pumpkin pie with no sugar, no dairy, no yucky stuff. All of these foods taste even better to us than the alternatives. But that is not to say that we don’t eat the other stuff every now and then.

Story time: When I was preggo with Jude I told james at the beginning of my pregnancy that I thought I could eat a whole entire tray of nuggets from Chik-Fil-A. Well, at the end of my pregnancy right around my birthday James came home with one of these:

He literally had to hide them from me when he realized I had eaten about 35 of them within about 20 minutes or so. He didn’t really think I was going to eat the whole thing. I mean, I can eat. Point is. Eat healthy, and I don’t mean the stupid food pyramid. Eat real foods, produce, things that have been minimally processed, things that nourish your body, help your immune system, and really FEED the body. If you are eating lots of these things it is okay to go get some ice cream or whatever every once in a while.

I want to know what your guilty pleasures are. Leave a comment telling me your favorite splurges.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 2:01 am

    good stuff!
    guilty pleasure – Katy Perry’s “Firework”
    please send my wife the recipe to this “almond cheese” you speak of 🙂
    jburns

  2. February 28, 2011 5:26 am

    PIZZA is a HUGE guilty pleasure of mine! Really anything with heaps of cheese.
    And Chick-fil-A. I didn’t go to all those grand openings for nothing 😉
    And ps–I really love that you have a Spice Girls Pandora station!

  3. February 28, 2011 11:17 am

    Hee hee. Great to hear from the kiwis. Justin, Katy Perry really? Totally not judging, just shocked. Lori, we are in big trouble here because many of my close friends from church work marketing for Chik-Fil-A. They have kindly given us many Be Our Guest passes. Sometimes I have to hide the from myself so I don’t eat there too often. Miss you guys and both of your spouses. Keep the pictures coming.

  4. Sydney Calhoun! permalink
    March 1, 2011 5:10 pm

    My guilty food pleasure is definitely pizza, but only nice thick crust, saucy, hot pizza (like either what we got in chicago or mellow mushroom). It’s so rare for me to eat now because I found out I am wheat intolerant, so when I do splurge on it I have to eat just a little bit, but it is SO GOOD.

  5. jane permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:19 pm

    My guilty pleasures are salty foods and baked goods. I used to have an addiction to chocolate back in high school and other sweet things like pop and ice cream but I’ve replaced those with fruit now. With the baked goods, I’m at least baking most of my own cookies and muffins so that they’re reasonably healthy and I tend to buy breads with healthy-ish ingredients.

    I haven’t yet figured out what to replace chips and crackers with. I just try not to eat as many for the time being.

    • March 9, 2011 4:55 pm

      Jane, sounds like you are making some really great choices. I don’t know if you have a Trader Joe’s around you but they have a chip made of vegetables and flax seed that are delicious. My husband and I eat them with hummus, salsa, or guacamole to beat our chip craving. The ingredient list on them is actually the best I have ever seen on a bag of chips.

  6. stephanie parker permalink
    March 19, 2011 3:45 am

    Hey! Abby, so this is completely random, but I feel like I need to justify posting a comment on your page since the only reason I know you is through David Scudder (because I was at a dinner with Philip Gilman one time at David’s house and you and James were there), and through your brother, because he led Sparta young life when I was in high school. Then I think after that night at David’s, I added you on facebook (because, yes, I’m person) and sometime recently my newsfeed told me about your blog. I love your blog. I am about to marry that same Philip, and when I read about the quality meal decisions you make, the way that you can adjust a healthy lifestyle around your cool family, and how you keep consistency every day, I am amazed and want to imitate some of your methods. Also I am FULL of questions. For instance, do you drink coffee, and if so, do you add sugar? I don’t even like coffee without sugar. And would you use whole milk, 2%, soy, skim, or almond milk? Also, how do you AFFORD so much food from whole foods? It’s so expensive! I’m a college student at UT and struggle to buy organic from Kroger. Also what if you’re on your period and seriously craving chocolate or sweets? Fruit simply won’t do then. Do you eat dark chocolate? And if you have that around the house, how do you not pig out? And what if you’re staying with people someplace or in a hotel for a couple nights…how do you eat healthy at restaurants? Do you eat fast food? (i try not to mostly because it’s gross, and nothing in my body feels better afterwards.) And second to last question, do you drink alcohol? How do you drink a beer and be healthy? They have so many calories. And lastly, since I’ve probably made you way more overwhelmed than you should be with your busy life, do you watch portions too, or mostly just focus on health content?

    • March 21, 2011 2:43 am

      I will try and reply to this by the end of the month. You asked a lot of awesome questions. Two and a half years ago I had those same questions. When James and I first got married we ate horribly and were paying for it with poor health. I love how on the ball you are.

Trackbacks

  1. Make Your Favorites Healthier « With A Freshness
  2. Delicious Healthy Fried Chicken « With A Freshness

Leave a Reply

