Skip to content

You Might As Well Eat A Twinkie

March 5, 2011

I eat a salad almost everyday. I used to have to force myself to eat one a week. These days I love salad. Part of the reason is because I got creative with my dressings. Do you know any of those people who eat a salad composed of iceberg lettuce, cheese, bacon bits, and then about a bucket and a half of ranch dressing? I do. Is that healthy? (Nod your head, “no-no”.) Do they think it is? I think a lot of times they do. A few weeks ago I found myself on the dressing aisle at a large chain grocery store. I decided to check out the options, and was blown away. There was literally a huge wall of dressings and every single one had sugar as one of the main ingredients. No joke. If you are wanting to do something good for your body and eat healthier why would you want to in essence sprinkle sugar all over it? Do you know what sugar does to the body? If not, google it right now. Seriously. Focus on getting your sugar from fruits and veggies. It is okay to have a special treat every now and then. I don’t mean, “Oh I am going to reward myself with a coke because I have not had any sugar since I had my Dunkin Donuts this morning”.

Anyways, moving on. So I literally spent about 15 minutes on the dressing aisle reading labels. I even looked at every single one in the organic section. They were a little bit better over all, but most of them still all had sugar. So instead of just huffing and puffing or whining like a baby. James and I started making our own. So quick. So easy. So yummy.

We make tiny individual dressings almost every day. We get to eat lunch together most days because we go to the same school, but still make separate ones because we like different things. He likes onions…YICK! I made 3 different ones for you today. They each literally took about 30 seconds to make. You can do it!

Cilantro Lime Dressing

I am a firm believer that everything tastes better with cilantro and/or lime.

I started with about an ounce or so of grapeseed oil. Added finely chopped cilantro, a half clove of garlic, and a tiny bit of adobo sauce from a can of chipoltle peppers. Make sure to get the peppers without added sugar. Sea salt and pepper to taste. Shake, shake, shake and there you have it.

Ginger Dressing

For this one I used some Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. This can be used as a healthy substitution for soy sauce. I added the Liquid Aminos to some  I added some ginger, and a teeny tiny drop of local honey. Shake, shake, shake, all done.

Apple Cider Vinegar and Oregano Dressing

This one is one part apple cider vinegar (which can be found almost anywhere and has a bajillion amazing health benefits) to one part grapseed oil. You could also use olive oil since you are not heating it. Then I added some seasonings. A lot of oregano, some paprika, Bragg’s All Purpose Seasoning. Last step, say it with me is shake, shake, shake. Done. Yum.


Eat salad, but make it fun. Variety is the spice of life. What is your favorite dressing or dressing recipe?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:24 pm

    Ok I admit I love me some ranch so baby Sis in law bring ur jars of homemade goodness to the next family fun fest and I will try them. You know how I am though so I’m not promising anything! Pops ruined me way back forcing me to eat weird crap so now as a defense I hurl! Thus the never ending green bean bit! I Wuv ur enthusiasm so I will try for u!

  2. March 5, 2011 9:11 pm

    It’s scary how sugar is in pretty much everything! I’m trying my best to eat less sugar but it’s difficult! I love how varied your dressings are – definitely a step up from my usual olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. 🙂

  3. Phyllis K Boyajian permalink
    March 6, 2011 2:41 am

    I make one with grapeseed oil, lemon juice, dried mint and a bit of garlic salt. I also make one using a little of the Hidden Valley dressing powder mix which does have maltodextrin in it which is a form of sugar. I don’t use a lot and I mix it with plain yogurt, which I make myself.

  4. March 6, 2011 7:31 pm

    I like to cook with lime a lot as well, it reminds me of Mexico. I used to travel there on business and fell in love with the cuisine. It is entirely different than what is served in the restaurants in America.

    • March 6, 2011 7:34 pm

      Agreed. Mu husband used to live in Mexico and we went there 3 times the first year we were married. There was a taco stand down the street that was so good. I think about it everytime I eat something “Mexican” in America.

  5. March 7, 2011 4:15 am

    The thing i love the most about surfing through other foodie blogs is the abundance of great ideas that are shared. This post is great, and now I plan to clean out 2 little jars to use as salad dressing jars. Thanks so much for this post…i shared it in my facebook account (facebook/karlmacphee – i friend people as it is not really a personal page but more of a fitness and food page). Thanks Abby!

    • March 7, 2011 11:32 am

      Thank you, I totally agree. In the 3 weeks that I have had a blog I have gotten so many great ideas for new recipes from others. @ xooma. Thank you.

  6. March 7, 2011 4:37 am

    wild pictures with the cilantro green hue. I also believe everything is better with cilantro. I have a past blog from January on that very subject.

  7. March 7, 2011 5:39 am

    Can’t wait to try these dressings! Thank you ~Jackie

  8. Jen permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:06 pm

    Cilantro and lime do indeed make everything better! Love the idea and I’ll have to try it. Thanks!

  9. March 8, 2011 2:05 pm

    Some great ideas for different dressings!– Three essentials are an acid (ex. vinegar), a fat (oil) and a flavor (lime, honey, herbs, etc.) I could do a healthier home made version of your classic ranch if folks would like to see. ?
    Thanks! j

  10. Kim Cooper permalink
    March 8, 2011 10:21 pm

    These dressings sound so tasty! I might actually be convinced to eat salads now!

  11. March 9, 2011 2:34 am

    I googled “what does sugar do to the body.” I try to avoid obvious sources of sugar like desserts, but I need to start focusing on cutting back on sugar in other places! Thanks for sharing you’re dressing recipes, I am going to try these!

  12. March 9, 2011 4:05 pm

    I’m with you- I love a good salad! My current favorite dressing is a creamy tomato number, made with cashews, sun-dried tomatoes, and herbs. I like sound of your suggestions, too!

  13. March 13, 2011 4:45 pm

    Your cilantro – lime sounds delish!

    Salad is an absolute staple in our household as the girl and I both eat very little meat. Neither of us like dressing very much (save for an occasional splurge on bleu cheese in place of fries if we’re out) so I make a very very light one. Our standard salad includes: some yummy dark green leaf, red peppers, maybe some purple onion, sunflower or pea sprouts, pepitos or sunflower seeds, a small handful of dried cranberries, a dash of olive oil and… here’s the magic ingredient Ume Plum Vinegar – that stuff is amazing! We put it on everything.

Leave a Reply

