Skip to content

Weekends Are Better With Pizza! The Fresh Way.

March 7, 2011


Now that it is the end of the quarter for school I can feel homework and deadlines piling up. James and I are both so busy that weekends are never long enough. We love having 2 days to just rest and play with the boys. We still have to get homework done but at least we don’t have classes. I try to make a lot of our food for the week on Saturdays and Sundays too. It is nice having extra time to spend in the kitchen….

Like I have said before I looooooove pizza. In elementary school my favorite food was the rectangle shaped pizza with the white flour crust and the tiny cubed pepperoni that they served in the cafeteria like every day. In high school and college my favorite food switched to Totino’s frozen pizza ( which also had cubed pepperoni-ish substance on it). These days I would be afraid to get one of those boxes and see all of the ingredients in it. At the core of how James and I eat is to eat things that are either raw or very minimally processed. My new favorite food is our homemade pizza. We make it every few weeks. It is healthier and less expensive than ordering pizza, though it is still a bit pricey when it come to all of the ingredients we put on it. We are currently living on food stamps so we have to make sure that the meals we make frequently are not only healthy but cost-efficient (more on that in future posts).

Here is how we make our pizza.

We use Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust mix.

Then we add tomato sauce (which is one of two food products that I buy at Wal-Mart). It is $1 a jar and is pretty good ingredient-wise.

Then I add spinach. If you can add greens to something, do it! In hindsight this time around I wish I had added 3 x the spinach.

Then I add cheese to mine and James adds his veggies to his. He likes his goodies under the cheese I like mine on top. Opposites attract I guess.

We use almond mozzarella on our pizza. It is a great dairy free cheese option. I get it at Whole Foods.

Also, I am always sure to add my favorite pizza topping which is cilantro! Sometimes we put kale on top too. Yum.

James’ is on top.

Also, here are a couple of other things that make the weekends awesome!

The boys have started playing together. It is so fun now that Jude is big enough to participate in stuff with Tiago.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. ambra harris permalink
    March 7, 2011 4:55 pm

    How does the almond cheese taste? Does it taste close to cow’s milk cheese or is it kind of its own thing? We like Daiya b/c out of what we’ve tried, it seems to taste the most like “real” cheese. (One brand of rice cheese we tried- inedible.) But we love almond milk, so I am curious to try almond cheese… the pizza looks yummy!

    • March 7, 2011 5:05 pm

      I love the almond cheese. It is pretty mild. I have tried Daiya and I did not like the flavor. I wanted to like it, but I just didn’t. I have heard people say the same thing about the almond cheese. I personally LOOOVE it and we use it on a lot of things. Our Whole Foods has mozzerella, cheddar, and pepper jack.

  2. March 7, 2011 5:58 pm

    love a good pizza!!!

  3. Sarah Hamilton permalink
    March 7, 2011 7:15 pm

    My favorite cheese is swiss, how bad is it? Since i cannot eat almond cheese 😦

  4. Dizzy Dance permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:18 am

    Oooh that pizza looks amazing! I didn’t know almond cheese even existed. I’ll have to check that out. Also, I couldn’t agree more about cilantro. It’s the best!

  5. March 8, 2011 1:40 pm

    I’ve never tried almond cheese, I’m looking forward to trying this pizza! It looks fabulous!

  6. shortystylee permalink
    March 8, 2011 3:48 pm

    We make homemade pizza every once in a while and we usually use a beer crust recipe (using Guinness instead of yeast). We got a pizza stone as a wedding gift and I love it! It makes for an adventure every time though, since we have a ton of trouble getting the pizza from the counter to eh stone.

    I’ve never thought of spinach though! It’d be great to hide some more veggies under the sauce.

    Jessica

    • March 9, 2011 4:57 pm

      YUM. I actually really like Guiness, so I think I will try your trick soon.

  7. March 9, 2011 2:25 am

    Your pizza looks great! I have some of Bob’s Red Mill pizza crust but haven’t made it yet. I tried King Arthur Flour crust mix — which was yucky, and Arrowhead Mills which wasn’t too bad. Bob’s is next! I need to try some of that almond mozzarella too!

    • March 9, 2011 4:56 pm

      Thanks for checking out the blog. I love yours. I think you will like the Bob’s Red Mill crust it is really tasty.

  8. March 10, 2011 4:28 am

    First off, your kids are REALLLY cute (“ABOUT” page).

    Second, kudos to you for being so handy in the kitchen! Pizza, YUMMMY! Especially homemade. Yes, it does get a little pricey if you get real fancy and numerous with the toppings. Keep it fresh and natural, and it will always turn out tastier and healthier than anything you can every buy from a restaurant or a frozen food section.

    Consider making your own sauce (if you have the time). Many recipes on the internet. Best part is you can season it the way you want.

    Careful now. With those images, there may be people beating a path out to your door to buy one of your pizza beauties.

  9. Amber porter permalink
    March 11, 2011 12:14 pm

    Ok how bad is it that u prob will never get me off real cheese. It’s my one comfort thing that I adore and u know how limited I am anyways so dear baby Sis what will u do with me? Will I do ok if I trim out other areas? πŸ™‚

  10. March 11, 2011 6:15 pm

    I love making homemade pizza! (Although I don’t make the dough – it just seems a bit intimidating to me.) All those toppings look delicious!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

