Skip to content

Have You Exercised Yet? I Mean Yet Today Not….EVER.

March 10, 2011

Have you gotten your heart rate up today? If not, this is your friendly reminder to do so. This does not have to mean leaving work 30 minutes early to run home grab your $200 yoga outfit then drive 40 minutes across town to your gym in traffic to make it to a class 5 minutes late. I honestly know people who do this every week. GET REAL! Not everyone has the time and or dolla dolla bills to make that happen. So what can you do? So many things. Really? Yes. But first you need to find what motivates you. Are you motivated by the thought of fitting in a particular bathing suit by summer? If so hang it somewhere you will see it. Are you motivated by working out with friends? Call them. Are you motivated by feeling better, living longer, and having optimal health? Then write to what you think that would feel like and tape it to your mirror.

What are you doing right now?

If you are at home doing laundry and watching tv. Stop, just for a few minutes and grab some of these.

No, we are not making a pumpkin/olive pie. Pick them up and do some curls, or tricep extensions, or punches. Can you tone your arms with such small weights? Certainly. I never use more than two lb. weights for arm work outs. 1 or 2 lbs is plenty. I used to use really heavy weights and found that I was getting jacked rather than toned, long, lean muscle. As a woman, I certainly prefer the latter. There are so many things you can do with these cans. And you can wear your pajamas while doing it, BONUS! Let yourself get to the point of feeling the burn in each position you choose and then challenge yourself do it for thirty or 60 more seconds.

Not at home? Too cool and hipster to have aluminum canned food because you recycle everything and put them n containers made out of something way healthier? I can respect that. Do some push-ups, or jumping jacks. My oldest hits the ground and does 5 push-ups every time he hears the word push-up because he sees me do them almost every other day while I am playing with he and Jude. That is one of the ways I maximize my time. If I am on the floor playing with the boys I will do some leg raises or push-ups or low squats. When James and I watch our favorite show Amazing Race I often hold different isometric positions or do some bursts of cardio. When driving in the car, I pull my abs in tight and tuck my hips forward then release over and over. Productivity.

.See Tiago’s Push-ups.

Just don’t look at my form in that video. I was just being silly with Tiago. Look here for info on correct push-up form. This is all a side note though. The main point is find a way to fit exercise in to your schedule. If it has been a while for you then you should start slow and let your body adapt and your mind get excited about the changes. If you have questions please leave a comment.

Also, since you are already here I thought I would show you what we had for dinner last night. We do not usually eat many grains for dinner, but we had company and I ran across a great recipe on Girl Evolving that sounded yummy and I had all the stuff for. It is a pasta dish with lots of spinach and goat cheese. I changed and added a few things of course because that is what I do. I used brown rice pasta, added mushrooms, and used almond cheese on the top. I also lightly steamed some broccoli and made Chicken Bryan which is an all time favorite at our house. Dinner was great!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie @ Savoring Simplicity permalink
    March 10, 2011 5:50 pm

    Such good and practical advice. Some people spend more time getting the new workout clothes than they do exercising. I find that good shoes and walking a few miles outside is good for the body and spirit. An inexpensive and easy to store DVD is great for rainy days. No room for big machines. Lifting a little weight is great for women to help prevent osteoporosis. Thanks for stopping by Savoring Simplicity.

  2. March 10, 2011 9:38 pm

    Love your changes to the recipe! Awesome!

  3. March 10, 2011 10:28 pm

    Thank you for the reminder, I loved this post and couldn’t have come across it at a better time. I had really started to get back into the groove of working out and then school started and I have slowly seen my workout dwindle. You’re so right though, even the little things make a big difference. My goal is to get back on track again with situps, pushups, lunges wherever I can fit them in. Also thank you for the comment on my “Staying Fit…” post from a few days ago. Keep writing!

    • March 10, 2011 10:31 pm

      Yvonne, Thank you so much for the encouraging comment. I teach a really intense fitness technique at a studio, but I know that not everyone is in a place where they can do that. It is all about becoming creative with where you are at and making it work!

  4. Amber porter permalink
    March 11, 2011 12:05 pm

    Doesn’t Bryan want his chicken? You should feel bad what kind of life coach steals a poor mans chicken. 😉

  5. Tori permalink
    March 11, 2011 6:17 pm

    Thanks for the compliment! You have some pretty yummy food pics yourself- the brown rice pasta sounds great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

