Skip to content

Would You Still Be My Blog Friend If?……

March 11, 2011

Would you still be my blog friend if 1) You knew that my house looked like a disaster zone this morning (Been a busy week finishing up this quarter of school and having a lot of final assignments due for both James and I. But I have time this morning to do a super clean!) 2) You knew I walked outside with my plaid jammie pants, striped fleece, and rain boots (no rain) in our highly populated apartment complex parking lot? and 3) You knew I let Tiago wear socks on his hands to school?

***************************************************************

In other news, this is what Tiago is taking to lunch today. Very healthy with a little treat because it is Friday and I am in a celebratory mood!

Top left is a bit of our gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, pumpkin-dark chocolate-blueberry pancakes: the treat!

Then you have peas, avocado, the orange mush is Pumpkin which leads me to a toddler feeding trick.

*Pumpkin is a great food for kids. If your kids won’t eat pumpkin, just add cinnamon. No sugar, just cinnamon. I am telling you my kids will eat mountains of it if it has cinnamon in it. Also, the organic cans at Whole Foods are close to $3. James and I buy our groceries with food stamps and live off of student loans so $3 a can is redonk. Pumpkin is not a food you HAVE to buy organic. I get it at Wal-Mart for $1.50 a can. The only ingredient in it is pumpkin, and that is good enough for me.

Then you have your pineapple followed by some olives and about an ounce of almond cheddar.

*****************************************************************

And lastly check out my yummy snack that I took to school yesterday. You are going to want to know this recipe. It will impress the masses.

I have classes on Tuesday and Thursday at school from 3-8. I often pack a full on dinner to take with me, but last night I just took snacks because I had a big lunch and my little Starbucks petite of course. So I packed some carrots, almonds, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, and the best hummus creation ever.

Hummus Creation: I got this idea from my sweet friend Ashley’s rehearsal dinner. She had it at one of my favorite places in Nashville called Fido. It is known for being Nashville’s best coffee shop, but it is so much more than that. They have incredible food. They did small dishes so we could enjoy many different flavors and tastes. My favorite dish of the evening was one of the appetizers. A super yummy hummus on pita bread with goat cheese topped with honey. My mouth exploded and it took real self- control to not hold the servers hostage until they agreed to bring me more.Ā  Don’t know why it took me until yesterday to try and recreate it but I honestly almost cried it was so good. I mean, I LOOOOVE food what can I say?

Best Hummus Creation Ever Recipe:

* 1 piece Ezekiel bread

* Now place hummus on bread. Use a spicy hummus of some sort. I used the jalapeno cilantro kind from Whole Foods.

* Then crumble some goat cheese on the bread.

* Now drizzle a teeny weeny, I mean tiny amount of honey over the bread. We are talking less than a teaspoon.

* Last, add some cracked pepper.

Try it and then tell me what you think!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 3:22 pm

    He has room for all of that in his backpack? Wow. I wish someone had made me awesome lunches like that when I was a kid – or now for that matter. :p

    • March 11, 2011 3:25 pm

      Ha. Yeah it looks like so much because it is all in separate containers. We used to have the cutest little lunch box for him with compartments, but accidentally being placed on the toaster oven when it was on.

  2. whitney permalink
    March 11, 2011 3:25 pm

    tiago’s lunch looks yummy (and nearly vegan!). i love how healthy your family eats.

  3. sonntagmorgenliebe permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:05 pm

    his lunch really does look delicious (especially the pancakes šŸ™‚ ) and you look cute in your plaid jammie pants!

  4. Kim Cooper permalink
    March 12, 2011 1:54 am

    I am about to walk my dog around the block in my Temple University pants that have giant owl eyes on the butt and paint on the legs… I hear ya!

    P.S. the pancakes look delish!!!!!

  5. March 12, 2011 4:23 am

    Love Tiago’s lunch! and love that you recreated the hummus appetizer! How come we hadn’t done that already?!?! šŸ˜› Love!

  6. March 13, 2011 2:19 am

    There’s an organic pumpkin at SuperTarget that’s $2 a can, and I do like this, straight up, best of all, when I’m just eating it plain with cinnamon (and maybe just a sprinkle of sugar!). But the regular old pure pumpkin is perfect for baking or cooking, I think. I agree that $3 a can is obnoxious!

    • March 13, 2011 2:28 am

      Thank you for that info. It is helpful to know because we have a Target almost within a half a mile from our apartment.

  7. March 13, 2011 9:28 pm

    Hi Abby,
    I love your blog and kids! they are beautiful! I dont have kids yet, but I’m the oldest of 5, so don’t worry, your house looks perfectly organized! šŸ™‚
    I always wondered how did my mom managed to do have 5 kids, sometimes even I’m too busy myself to clean the house (and I’m only one!)

    keep writing! i love the stories! šŸ™‚

  8. Nichole Heinz permalink
    March 17, 2011 2:49 am

    Yay! So glad you found my blog so that I can read your’s too! Thanks for the recipe inspiration. It will help so much on our quest to be Clean Eaters!

  9. Amber permalink
    March 20, 2011 2:55 pm

    If u were neater I would disown u! Lol. Miss u precious girl! I will say one thing I notice when those beautiful boys have been hittin the punkin a tad much between that n the yams they get a nice orange glow. Hee Hee hee. We will have to set up punkin anonymous. Lol u r my fav healthy girl!

    • March 21, 2011 2:37 am

      Ha. SOOOO TRUE. We laugh a lot about the fact that the boys have “orange skin syndrome” because of the beta carotene intake.

  10. June 17, 2011 2:28 am

    I just tried this appetizer/snack after finally getting all the right ingredients and you’re right, it’s delicious!! It will be my new favorite HEALTHY go-to snack!!

Trackbacks

  1. What’s beige, and white, with black dots and sticky all over? « This is more like it!

Leave a Reply

