Skip to content

Our Everyday Breakfast

March 17, 2011

9 times out of 10 times if you walk in to our kitchen at 7am you are going to see two things going on. James will be making breakfast and I will be making lunch for the monkey children.  I usually wake up at 6 and either exercise or do some homework before it is time to go to the kitchen and get started on our duties. Our breakfast smoothie is typically my favorite meal of the day. My super duper hot husband has perfected it. The ALWAYS ingredients are: Some form of green either kale or spinach, coconut milk (or concentrate which is way cheaper and lasts longer. Thanks Allison for the tip.), carrots, cinnamon (full of antioxidants and great for metabolism), small handful of frozen blueberries, and a banana for texture. Sometimes we add celery, cucumbers, flax, or protein (if it is just after a workout for James or I). We also vary the fruits sometimes. This is what it looked like this morning.

James and I have been doing our smoothie every morning for almost 2 years now. It is a great way to start your day off with nutrients, giving life to your cells, and with a yummy and flavorful taste. The boys each started having smoothies at around 6 or 7 months. Tiago can drink his out of  a sippy cup now. He usually downs it pretty fast and then drinks whatever may be left of Jude’s. Though these days Jude normally drinks all of his. I could do a pretty funny montage of all of their smoothie mustache pictures.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 2:51 am

    I love that everyone gets the same and all in different portions!
    I’ve had smoothies in the morning, i like them but because its liquid i get hungry quickly….is that all you have?! I’ll try it! Sounds delish…..the coconut cream is a good idea, i usually just add yogurt

  2. March 17, 2011 4:21 am

    Mile – try adding some oat bran or granola to make it more filling. I also like peanut butter and unsweetened cocoa powder which also has lots of antioxidants.

    I’ll have to try the carrots! Yay for smoothie goodness! Such a great way to get your fruits and veggies and start the day right 😀

  3. March 17, 2011 6:51 am

    this is great! I’m reading more and more about how strictly raw, vegan food should be consumed in the morning, since your body is in detoxification mode until around noon. Juicing, a smoothie, or fresh fruit is the way to go! I cannot wait to get back to my Vitamix, that is if i can pry it out of my mom’s hands! 😛

  4. March 17, 2011 6:16 pm

    Good stuff! I may try this too. Thanks for sharing.

  5. March 18, 2011 6:12 pm

    Thanks Mrs q! I’ll try that!

    http://www.milegonzalez.com

Leave a Reply

