Skip to content

Adoption Story: Part 3 Abundant Provision

March 19, 2011

So like I said we were told that the lady from Caring Choices would take the photos of us along with some more information about us to the birth mom and then we would basically just wait until we heard from the agency about her decision. We had been told it was between us and one other family. Deep down, I just knew it was right and that the baby would be ours, but that did not make the waiting easier. We were encouraged to wait until we found out for sure before we started setting up a nursery. Which makes sense because I can’t imagine how shattering it would be to have it all set up ad find that there would be no baby to fill it. BUT when you may be parents in 3 weeks you really want to get a jump on things. I tried to occupy my time and keep myself busy to keep my mind off of it, but yeah right. I barely slept at all and would sometimes wake James up in the middle of the night and say things like “she’s going to pick us, right?” or “we are going to be parents in just a few weeks, can you believe it?” Well after a week of waiting something inside of me just knew and I called my mom one day and said ” I know what they said about setting up the nursery but lets just go to the fabric store and pick out the fabric for his room.”  Sidenote: my mom is super crafty and has decorated all 4 of the places that James and I have lived so far. So she came over and we went to Joann. To be honest I remember that my body was shaking the whole time we were in there, I don’t know if it was from nervousness of being a parent, lack of sleep, impatience for waiting to hear the official word, or all of the above. As we stood in the checkout line my phone rang. We had been chosen as the parents of a child that was to be born in the next few weeks. WHAAAAAAAAT?!?!?

At this point things went into high gear. Mom and I went to town decorating a room for a baby boy. My young adult pastor from church took me to register for baby stuff which was so helpful because I was clueless. Our youth group planned a shower for us. We also set up a time with the ladies at Caring Choices, the birth mother, and the birth mother’s family. We met them at a restaurant. On the way to the restaurant I started feeling a bit nauseous, had James pull the car over, and I vomited out of my car onto one of the sweet little streets in down town Franklin. The dinner went well. She is a lovely woman with a very amazing and supportive family. I was so nervous the whole time that I was not sure how I came across to her. While at dinner we told her that we planned on naming him Tiago but that we wondered what names she liked. (James and I had been thinking and thinking about a middle name and had not settled on anything.) She said she liked the name Lucas and instantly we knew it was the right fit. So dinner ended and we went home.

After that night, all that was left to do was wait until he was born. In the meantime a few things happened. Like I said the youth group that we led threw us a baby shower. The students wrote us notes, spoke prayers over us, and gave us sweet gifts. It was really a special night.

That was on a Wednesday night. Later that evening I received a call from our pastor asking if we would be up for sharing our story with the whole congregation on Sunday morning so they could be praying for us as we prepared to be parents in such a short amount of time. We said yes. So Sunday morning we get up in front of our congregation of about 700 or 800 people and tell our story.

After we told our story they hit us with the biggest surprise of my life. They took the mic from me and then said, “What Abby and James don’t know is that we are going to take up a special offering for them today, so ushers go ahead and pass the buckets around 1 more time. Feel free to put in whatever you want to help out with their adoption expenses.” Wait, really?”If you remember back to the other parts of the story. James and I only had a teeeeny tiny portion of what was needed saved up. So far I have cried each time I have written a portion of this story for the blog. Tonight it was when I found these photos and remembered the emotions that came over me as those words were said. God had told us He would provide. He is so good and faithful. Later that afternoon we were given the total of the offering, and it was MORE than what we needed to cover every single penny of our adoption expenses. Wow. Still blows my mind. What an amazing gift. On top of that we were given more than 6 months worth of diapers and wipes. My aunts chipped in and purchased the crib I had been drooling over at Target (I had literally been carrying a picture of it in my wallet since the week that James and I had decided to adopt). We were given a stroller, a carseat, and boxes upon boxes of clothes from other mommies at the church. I am not talking heinously ugly hand-me-downs here. I am talking about super cute and really nice clothes.

Now that we had all of that in place all that was left to do was wait until we heard news that he had been born. So much easier said than done. Tiago was due on April 28th. That morning I woke up and tried hard to distract myself. At one point I got into the shower. When I came out I smelled smoke. “James do you smell smoke?” As he said “yes” we both began to see smoke start filling our bathroom. We owned a condo in downtown Franklin and a unit underneath us had caught on fire.

I think I will leave you there for now. More coming soon. If you have any questions please feel free to leave a comment.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 2:51 am

    okay, I’m crying reading this!! I’m anxiously waiting for part 4!! -ash

  2. Phyllis K Boyajian permalink
    March 19, 2011 2:56 am

    OK Crying here too. Can’t wait for the next installment.

  3. March 19, 2011 3:17 am

    Can’t wait for part 4!

  4. March 19, 2011 5:49 am

    way to leave us HANGIN!

    i remember that morning at church really well, too. 🙂

  5. March 19, 2011 1:02 pm

    Wow, what a wonderful story! 🙂

  6. March 19, 2011 3:33 pm

    Abby! you made me cry! I think you wrote it beautifully so I got to experience a mini portion of what you felt! Thanks for sharing!

    since I was young my grandfather use to say, ” never plan your first child. Let him give you the surprise, and you’ll be eternally grateful.” It applies, right?

    http://www.milegonzalez.com

  7. Rebecca permalink
    March 19, 2011 9:47 pm

    BAH! Reading this and seeing these pictures definitely made me tear up. What an amazing story!

  8. March 20, 2011 2:10 am

    That got me a little bit…okay, a lot teary!! What an amazing story and miracle!! We have two boys and they are 5 years apart. After James (my James 😉 ) turned one we started trying for our second. It ended up being close to 4 years of miscarriages and complications. We thought we thought we would not be able to have another child. I said I was going to stop trying if I was not pregnant by my 30th birthday. I conceived Gavin (our 11 month old) the day before my 30th birthday!! He was a twin, but the other did not make it early on. All I focused on was being healthy and just visualizing holding him and having a healthy delivery! We are so grateful for our happy little family, and to see other’s cherish their family is a great gift!! Your boys are beautiful!!!!!

    • March 21, 2011 2:40 am

      Wow. Thank you for the comment, and your openness. What a beautiful story. I can tell you are an amazing and strong woman.

  9. March 20, 2011 2:25 am

    God bless!That is so heartwarming. There is nothing like a loving community.

  10. angie casey permalink
    March 20, 2011 12:42 pm

    Abby –
    I feel like I know you after reading so much of your blog! I laugh with you and cry with you and pray with you. Your brother is such a fun and happy blessing to my family, and Sam & Joy are literally my inspiration for the parent model, so I’m not a bit surprised to find you utterly charming. Can’t wait for part 4 on how Tiago joined you and what the smoke was all about!

    ac

    • March 21, 2011 2:38 am

      Aw thank you. You are so sweet. And your girls are beautiful. I may or may not fb stalk. My mom and dad are the bomb. That is fo sho.

  11. March 20, 2011 5:37 pm

    I was in tears with your story! I can’t wait to hear the rest. God truly does provide, always. Thank you so much for sharing your story!

    • March 21, 2011 2:36 am

      Thanks for your sweet comments. The story is really still so unbelievable to me that I am moved every time I think about it. That is why it is taking me so long to get t the end of it.

  12. March 25, 2011 2:17 am

    What a beautiful story.

Leave a Reply

