Skip to content

Turkey Lettuce Wraps

March 25, 2011

Here are a few of the things that have gone on in my kitchen this week:

First off I made turkey lettuce wraps. They are a staple at our house. I always keep some ground turkey in the freezer because we make this about every 2-3 weeks. It is an adaptation of the chicken lettuce wraps on Dr. Josh Axe‘s website. He has so many great recipes but this is one of our favorites. Fo’ sho. It is so easy. We make a big batch of it at a time and then eat it for the next few days. It is also a crowd pleaser so if we are having friends over and can’t decide what to make this is one of our go-to’s. Here is how I do it.

* Put some coconut oil in a pan and heat it on about medium heat. I use about 2 tablespoons.

Then I add the meat.Let it turn mostly white (cooked) before adding in the cashews. I soaked mine for about 5 hours before I started cooking.

Then, it is time for the goodies. I add a few splashes of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos which is a healthy substitue for soy sauce. I also add sea salt and pepper to taste. I LOOOVE pepper so I use a lot. The ginger, honey, and garlic are what really make this recipe though. I use a ton of ground ginger, 1 large clove of garlic per lb of turkey meat, and about 1-2 tablespoons of honey.

After that it is time to serve them. We use romaine lettuce for ours. Perfect.

I also made applesauce for the first time this week. I have had a Vita-Mix for a year and a half and have two little boys, why haven’t I done this yet? We usually have a lot of fruit on hand in the kitchen. Yesterday, however, while I was making the boys’ lunch I realized we were out of everything but apples. The boys love apples but for some reason won’t eat apple slices when I send them to school. They will eat them at home, just not at school. It is one of those weird kid tricks or something. Anyways I figured that they would definitely eat it in sauce form though, so I threw two of them in the blender which still had residue from our moslty carrot and celery smoothie we had for breakfast (Yeah, it usually has a lot more ingredients but I have not been to the store to restock because of exams. It has been a “make it work” kinda week). Then I added some cinnamon.

So basically this is a carrot-applesauce. They LOVED it. I ate some too. So good.

I also made Tiago man a little pizza for his lunch. I make him one every week or so. It is just Ezekiel bread with some pizza sauce, avocado, olives, and almond cheese. I make them different each time.

Hope everyone is having a great day. James and I are both officially done with our final exams and are looking forward to a week in Nashville and then on to our amazing race!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Recipe Chefs permalink
    March 25, 2011 6:34 pm

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    The Most Delicious Baked Cod Recipe

  2. March 26, 2011 3:51 pm

    Dear Abby,

    Thanks for the food info. I need all the help I can get.

    Sincerely,
    IMA LOUSYCOOK

    spread the humor.

  3. March 31, 2011 9:59 pm

    So many good creations!

    They make me hungry…

  4. April 4, 2011 7:04 pm

    Yammi… thanks

Trackbacks

  1. With A Freshness | Ashraya Mission

Leave a Reply

