Skip to content

Adoption Story: Part 4

April 13, 2011

So sure enough there was a fire in the building our condo unit was in. James and I were actually the only ones home out of 8 units so we called 911. Two fire trucks arrived shortly. Smoke was billowing out of the building. We were lucky in that they put it out before the actual flames reached our unit. It had however been covered in soot and smoke.

I spent half of the whole day sitting on the curb outside of our condo thinking about the fact that I was expecting a call from our adoption agency at any moment saying that our son had been born, it was the birth mother’s due date after all. I did not at that point realize how much the whole fire thing was about to change our game plan. As I told you before my mom had already come and set up our whole nursery. Now it was covered with smoke damage. Later that day a cleaning service came out that specialized in after fire stuff. We had to pack up literally all of our belongings and send them off to be cleaned. They told us to put a few changes of clothes into an “express bag” that they would get back to us within a week or so and that the rest could take up to 6 weeks. So James and I literally had the clothes on our backs.

What to do? What to do? When you have a baby due any moment and now have no place to bring them home to.  Well, James’ mom came over later in the day and offered their house for as long as we needed it. We took her up on her offer. The rest of the afternoon was spent with James’ sister who helped me go buy some baby items in case Tiago was born that afternoon or evening. We had no idea how long we would be out of our condo (we actually never moved back in) and wanted to be prepared for our son.

Two mornings later I woke up to the noise of receiving a text message on my phone. This is what I saw.

The birth mother’s sister had taken this pic and texted it to me. My heart stopped beating as I was instantly filled with more joy than I had ever experienced before in my life. I shook James waking him up by shoving the photo in front of his squinting eyes.  We then sat in bed together holding one another thanking the Lord. We were asked to not come to the hospital until the following day. The birth mother wanted to have some time with him. The next morning we drove to the hospital in the pouring rain to meet our son. I was wearing clothes from my cousin Kristen because all of my clothes were still gone from the fire. James made a video of the first time we met Tiago and I will post it below.

Anyways, so we walked into a hospital room with Tiago’s birth mother and a few of her family members and…our son. Wow. What a powerful moment in my life. I was so excited, scared, nervous, and so many other things all at the same time. She handed him to me and he started to cry a few seconds later. To be honest I felt like everyone in the room was watching and judging how I was holding my own son. In hindsight I know that was not the case but in the moment I was convinced of it. James and I spent an hour or so with them passing him back and forth and talking with the family. Then we went home. She and Tiago were to be discharged from the hospital the following day.

We showed up at the hospital the next morning and were asked to meet our case worker in the lobby. At that point in time we signed a few pieces of paper, gave her a check covering all of our adoption costs (thanks again to Grace Center for providing this for us) and then we walked up to her room and waited for the nurses to discharge them. This was a moment in time that I will never forget. Practically everyone in the room was crying. The birthmom, her mom, and her sister were passing Tiago back and forth saying their good-byes. I can not even imagine what was going on in their hearts and minds. A few moments passed and then Tiago was handed to me. As the birth mom and her family left the room each one hugged both James and I, told us they loved us, and told us that even though they were crying they were going to be okay, they told us that they were so happy that James and I were going to be Tiago’s parents and that we were going to be the perfect mommy and daddy for him. Wow. I have heard a lot of people’s adoption stories and had no idea what to expect. Let me just tell you, that I could not have imagined a more beautiful transition. Without saying it she had given us her blessing. That does not often happen in adoption.

The above was our first family photo (little did I know, we should have taken a long shot to include the little Jude that was already formed in my belly…clueless at this point).

On the way to James’ parents house from the hospital. Our family was awaiting his arrival. Yes, I know the bumper is pink. We had to get it the day before he was born and that was all they had at the store, so bite me. When we pulled up to the house my mom ran out into the drive way, opened the car door, pushed me out of the way, and said “let me see my grandson”. This child right here made my mom a YaYa! This day was truly one of the best days I have ever had or will ever have. This little boy was always supposed to be our son. He was always supposed to be Jude’s big brother. Wow. I remember riding in the car on the way home from the hospital thinking “3 weeks ago I had no clue that I would be a mommy right now, now I am in a car with my husband and a baby that is mine forever”. What on earth? Crying now. I feel like there is so much I could say but I think I will leave it with that for now.

If you ever have any questions about our story or want info or adoption resources please comment or let me know somehow. I love talking to people about adoption. I think it is one of the most amazing choices anyone could ever make.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kristen permalink
    April 13, 2011 4:22 am

    Oh my gosh I am bawling. This is the BEST story! You and James are mega parents!

  2. April 13, 2011 4:45 am

    Thank you so much for sharing! My first three nephews were brought into our family through the miracle of adoption, and I hope from the bottom of my heart to have the privilege of adopting one day (soon). Your story is inspiring. My husband and I are both very young, and not exactly “established,” by traditional standards, so sometimes it feels like a far off dream. I’m so excited to read stories like this.

  3. April 13, 2011 9:28 am

    I am so overwhelmed reading your story and how you first met Tiago. It is beautiful and I am so happy for your family. Just lovely. I wish you all the happiness in the world.
    P.s. Thanks for posting on my blog 🙂

  4. April 13, 2011 1:37 pm

    What an amazing story. I just cried reading your blog. What great parents you guys sound like. Reading your blog made me smile. And I needed that. Thank you:)

  5. April 13, 2011 7:49 pm

    Amazing story!! Congratulations!!

  6. April 14, 2011 2:12 am

    He is beautiful, momma! 🙂

  7. April 14, 2011 3:35 am

    Abby and James, what a lovely story of God’s goodness! Thanks for making my morning by leaving me a comment and introducing me to your blog. You are going to have a wild ride indeed. Love that God times Jude’s and Tiago’s arrival so they can be buds and James’ arms can be full for wrestling.

Leave a Reply

