Skip to content

Challenging Myself To Greatness

April 14, 2011

I saw this quote on my friend Emily’s FB.

If a man for whatever reason has the opportunity to lead an extraordinary life, he has no right to keep it to himself. – Jacques-Yves Cousteau

I am not usually a “quote person” but this one really spoke to me. I think it is kind of the reason that I am even blogging these days. I feel blessed to live the life I get to live. I know the Lord has given me gifts, stories, and insights and he wants me to actually share them and not be so humble or fearful that I keep them to myself.

I  already told you a little bit about our Amazing Race trip. We had so much fun snowboarding on Monday and Tuesday. The end of the week was incredible as we spent it at a chiropractic conference hearing from some of the top chiropractors in the field. These men and women are changing lives as they live and deliver 5 essentials to living a healthy life (more on these in an upcoming post). We even got to hear Jordan Rubin, founder of Garden of Life products speak on Saturday. Hearing all of these speakers really lit a fire under my butt to not only support my husband in his chiropractic endeavors but to be a great life coach, mommy, wife, friend, and citizen and so much more.

This all kind of ties in with my favorite part of our trip which happened to be Wednesday morning. James and I got up early that morning walked to a coffee shop that was close by and spent a little over 2 hours writing out goals. We had decided to really “do it up” this week because it is highly likely that we will not go on a vacation like this for a looong time. So we ordered some “special” coffees with Bailey’s. Yes, I know there is nothing healthy about coffee, cream, and alcohol especially all at 9am but it sure was fun just once. P.S. these two pics also display my awesome thrift shopping skills. James had been wanting a black beanie. This is a Winter Park beanie. They sold the same one on the slope for $30. I found it for $6. Oh and those sunglasses??? Dollar Tree. Yup. If you have been around me in the last 6 months or so you will know I am obsessed with bangles. I forgot to bring mine on the trip but I did find the one I am wearing in the pic for $3 at a thrift store in Winter Park. Skills.

So what kind of goals did we make? A little bit of everything. If I was not married to James I would definitely have just scribbled them on a napkin or scratch paper of some sort and they probably would have been lost before I got back to Atlanta. Lucky for me James made some crazy detailed paper on the computer. He had all of these categories and sub categories. We made family goals, school goals, physical goals, financial goals, (kind of interesting when you make $0 a month which accumulated over 12 months equals $0 a year) goals for our future practice, and a few other categories that I am forgetting because they are on James’ computer. Many of them we put dates on. Let me just tell you that these few hours really had a HUGE part in the joy and excitement that I am currently feeling even over a week later. I have kept our goals on my mind all week. I am planning on printing them soon and putting them up in our room. SO PUMPED! It put so many things in perspective.

Have you sat down and made any goals recently? Part of the reason I wanted to do this with James was because I had been challenging some of my life coaching clients to make goals, and I was seeing some incredible results. I had been making goals for the last year or so. But I had not sat down to put them all on paper and really focus on what my dreams are and what specific goals I could use to propel myself forward.

Since I am in a quote-y mood

“If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things” Albert Einstein

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” C.S. Lewis

“Set your goals high, and don’t stop till you get there.” Bo Jackson

Why not sit down sometime this week and write out some goals? It will be so worth it. Feel free to leave a comment telling me about success you have had with goal setting in the past.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 2:19 am

    I love it! Drew is the same as James when it comes to writing down goals–everything is divided into categories and sub-categories and then printed all nicely 😉
    We set goals each month to pay off our student loans and were able to stick with it and become debt free way sooner than we even expected. We also wrote down our travel goals last year, and here we are in New Zealand!

  2. April 16, 2011 11:15 am

    Lori, you two are amazing! I think we may adopt your plan and re-visit our goals once a month. I think constantly re-focusing on them will be such a boost in actually accomplishing them in the time frames that we have set.

Leave a Reply

