Skip to content

Salmon Dinner

April 15, 2011

Salmon is one of my favorite things to cook. In a lot of ways I feel like it is nearly impossible to mess it up. I have made it probably a dozen different ways. The health benefits of salmon are numerous. It not only contains high amounts of protein and omega-3 fatty acids but it also is a good source of vitamin D and B12. When purchasing salmon it is important to make certain that it is wild caught. Farm-raised salmon which is typically what you are going to find at places like Kroger and Wal-Mart are toxic and I will not be shy about saying that it is detrimental to your health to keep buying such fish. click here to read a brief description about the environment farm raised fish live in. I am so bummed for those who don’t know any better and are genuinely trying to make a healthy meal for their family thinking that salmon automatically equals healthy. It only does if you know enough to buy the right kind.

A few days ago I ran across The Savvy Student Kitchen  blog and saw a salmon recipe that made my mouth water. So, I made an extra trip to the store and picked up some salmon and asparagus.

***side note*** I called Publix to see if they had in any wild caught salmon because occasionally they have high quality meat. They told me that they usually carry wild caught salmon for a season starting in mid May. So if you shop there, you can get wild caught salmon next month.

This recipe is so easy. I did it almost exactly like the recipe on Savvy Student except I added some sun-dried tomatoes.

* Pre heat oven to 400

*Take some aluminum foil

*Place asparagus on foil

*Place salmon fillet on asparagus

* Add sea salt and pepper

* Add a tiny bit of grape seed oil (in the original recipe it called for olive oil, but olive oil goes rancid at such high temperatures so it is much better to sub grape seed oil which has a higher heat thresh hold)

* Add two tablespoons of pesto

* Add sun-dried tomatoes

* Squeeze the juice from half a lemon over each fillet

* Fold your aluminum foil around your fish

* Place on a baking sheet, ( I made 4 fish pouches so we could each get two meals out of it)

* Then place in over for 15-25 minutes depending on the size of the fillet. Ours were thick so it took the whole 25.

This salmon was awesome. My only problem with it was how limp the asparagus got. I love asparagus. The juices and flavors were perfect for the fish, but I may just lightly steam or saute my asparagus in the future which is how I normally cook it, so that it will be a bit crunchier.

What are you making for dinner tonight?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. thethriftygourmet permalink
    April 15, 2011 6:35 pm

    Nice! I like the sun-dried tomato addition – I’ll definitely try that next time I cook this! Also, I agree re: the asparagus. Green beans work better (they were what the original Jamie Oliver recipe called for).

  2. April 16, 2011 4:38 am

    I am TRYING THIS! Where can I get grape seed oil?

    • April 16, 2011 11:12 am

      You can get it anywhere these days. They have it in the organic/healthy section at most grocery stores. They sell it at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s as well. I even know some people who order it off of Amazon. We primarily only cook with grape seed oil or coconut oil.

  3. Kristen permalink
    April 16, 2011 4:51 pm

    Abby this looks awesome! I made your asian lettuce wraps for dinner this week and they were DIVINE. Stevie and I love them and make them almost every week now. You are a food genius.

  4. Tricia permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:19 pm

    I’m making this for dinner tonight! Let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

