Skip to content

Black Bean and Beef Meatballs!

April 19, 2011

A few months ago I remembered seeing a link on someone’s facebook to these meatballs. I immediately printed the recipe an intended on making them right away. I placed it in my recipe drawer which also doubles as my put-anything-that-I-can’t-find-a-place-for- drawer. So, unfortunately it lived there for many months before I unearthed it this weekend in a pitiful attempt to organize said drawer better.

The recipe is found on the Maximized Living blog and was created by Kimberly Roberto. If you are looking for yummy healthy recipes, that blog is another fabulous resource. It is also full of amazing health information, facts, tips, research, etc.

Okay, so going in to this recipe I was not super excited about have to touch the raw meat. That job is always reserved for James. But I decided to make it while he was at school so he would have a yummy dinner to come home to. Seriously mixing meat with my hands makes me a bit nauseous. Yes, I love to cook so I guess I need to get over it. WAAAAY easier said than done.

Again, be sure and check the original recipe for this…..this is just my adaptation. I double the recipe that way James and I would have lots of meatballs for the week. We will probably eat them today after we swim/bike.

* Preheat oven to 425

* Mash up your black beans. I did mine in the Vita-Mix. As I was scraping them from the Vita-Mix to the bowl all I could think was “this must be what mixing cement is like. They were so thick. I bet if you slapped some of them on the wall you could glue a dining room table to the wall.” I used 2 and a half cans of beans rinsed.
* Then add in your meat and spices. I used 2lbs of grass fed beef (Yes it costs more, but I will gladly pay more for no hormones, antibiotics, pesticides and to put it plainly “sickness”.) For spices I added chili powder, oregano, curry powder, 2 huge cloves of garlic minced, sea salt, pepper, Bragg’s mixed seasoning, 2 eggs, and lime juice. I did not follow the measurements in the original. I really like stuff to be flavorful, so I added a ton. And actually in hindsight I probably could have gone even heavier on some of the spices.

* Now is the time to get down and dirty. I was making a “stink face” the whole time as I kneading and mixed the meat with my hands. I have only taken off my wedding ring like 3 times in the 5 years that it has been on my hand and yesterday was one of the few times.

* Grease some pans or baking sheets with coconut oil.

* Then roll the meat into little balls. I did two pans of bigger ones, and two pans of itty bitty ones for ….variety or something.

* Place in the oven for like 20-25 minutes

* Bam!

* Meatballs!

Then you gotta make the saucy sauce that is also on the Maximized Living blog.

All it is is some good quality plain yogurt, lots of cilantro, a little lime juice, sea salt, and pepper. I used less than half of the yogurt it called for, about 3 x’s the cilantro and lime juice, and then sea salt and pepper to taste. I threw them in the Vita-Mix. Done. So good!

I also mad some yummy kale and veggie brown rice by making the brown rice as the package said. I threw in a pea and carrot mix, a few eggs, a ton of kale, and a teeny bit of feta. Oh my yum!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kalli permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:43 am

    oh this looks like such a fabulous recipe! love this….may have to try it too 🙂

  2. April 20, 2011 2:23 pm

    I am going to try these tonight! I also recently purchased coconut and grapeseed oil – they are now my new loves for cooking! One question – did the kids eat it?!

  3. April 20, 2011 7:17 pm

    Thanks ladies.
    Karissa, Our boys have actually not started eating meat yet. Most studies show that around age 2 is when the body is able to process and properly digest meat protein. Since Tiago turns 2 in two weeks we have just in the last week started letting him try a bite of egg every couple of days. I can not wait until he is eating meat because it will open the door to so many more meal possibilities for him.

  4. April 23, 2011 3:32 am

    Hmm. Maybe that’s why my 18 month old doesn’t like meat 🙂 What do they eat for protein instead?

  5. April 26, 2011 2:54 pm

    What an original sounding recipe! I love the idea of beans mixed in with the meat!

  6. April 27, 2011 4:05 am

    Yuh-um! Meatballs are one of Drew’s favorites things to eat. Great idea to make extra and save them for snacking later!

  7. Johanna permalink
    May 5, 2011 2:17 am

    I don’t know where you get your grass fed beef, but there is a farmer up the road from us that sells 10 lb (packaged in 1 lb increments) for $50.

Leave a Reply

