Skip to content

Healthy Pizza and Cheesecake

May 3, 2011

I have been a bit more absent from blogging this week than I intended. The boys were both sick last week and I spent most of this past week catching up on homework, laundry, and exercising. To be honest and just vent for a minute I am having a hrad time getting into the swing of things during this quarter at school. For some reason I have just not found my rhythm yet which has made me more tired than usual and thus the blog has been lower on the priority list. I felt pretty rested today and  have some fun stuff to tell you about.

I hit a home run in the kitchen on Thursday night which was inspired by a trip to the grocery store. I ran across a frozen pizza in Whole Foods the other day that said it had broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots in the crust. It was little and I bought one to try it out even though the ingredient list was not fabulous besides the veggies. I made it the next night and loved the way the crust tasted with the veggies and decided to try to make my own. Last night was the big night. Seriously the best tasting pizza I have ever eaten as well as the healthiest. It is going to take a few more times to get the crust perfect but it was really really good. Here is a rough description of how I did it.

I made the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free crust like normal. Then I lightly steamed some veggies. Broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and I added kale (because that’s what I do!)

Then I threw them in the Vita-Mix with a little bit of water and grape seed oil and blended them until they looked like the consistency of the baby food I make. It ended up being close to 3 cups of veggies. Next I mixed them in with the Bob’s Red Mill dough and kneaded it by hand. I loved how green it was. I also added an extra half an egg and little bit more of the flour from another package of the same crust mix. I didn’t measure it just eyeballed it until it looked and felt like the right consistency. Common sense is the best guide in cooking I think.

Then I did the rest like usual. I piled it high with yummy veggies and sprinkled a bit of almond mozzarella on it. Oh and I put tons of spinach and squash on it as well. It made three pizzas. The 3rd was not quite as large as this, but close. Seriously so yummy.

I also made dessert. They are similar to chocolate cheesecakes just waaay healthier. I got the recipe a loong time ago from a blog and can not seem to find it anymore. I will just give you a general idea of how I made them. I have made them in so many different ways. You can use your imagination and try different ingredients with them. I basically threw 2 cups of soaked cashews, 1 cup of cacoa, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/8 cup of honey, 1/8 cup of pure maple syrup, 3/4 cup water, dash of sea salt, handful of blueberries, 1/2 cup of coconut oil, and 1/4 can of pumpkin in the blender. Then I rubbed my muffin tin with coconut oil and filled them up and stuck them in the freezer. Pull them out an hour later and they are perfect. James really liked this particular batch.Sometimes I even make a drizzle to go with it. A good one is just equal part raspberries to equal part honey. This time we just ate them plain. You will be shocked at how much they actually taste like cheesecake.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 5:01 am

    What a lovely post. Thank you so much for sharing. Family and friends are just a great part of life. I couldn’t imagine life without them.

    Check out these Fun Family Activities

  2. ambra harris permalink
    May 3, 2011 1:33 pm

    Both the pizza and the cheesecake sound sooo yummy!!!! I want to try to make the cheesecake soon! Thanks! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Failures in the kitchen « Experiment Q
  2. Brownies « Experiment Q

Leave a Reply

