Skip to content

It’s The Simple Things

May 5, 2011

Had the loveliest of weekends. My sweet Tiago turned 2! I still can’t believe it. He is growing so fast and his little personality is really beginning to show. He loves to have fun, is very compassionate, loves music, food, running, trains, plains, gorillas. He is also a bit cautious. he wants to hold my hand when stepping down from the curb. he does not like to feel unsteady, and hates getting sticky things on his hands. I looove everything about him! Everything.

Pants are not a requirement at your second birthday party. Tiago wants to make sure he enjoys it while he can.

Jude wanted to check out Tiago’s birthday present from Aunt Angela. I think this pic is hilarious. He was really going for it on the mic.

We went to the mall where James was volunteering at a booth for a chiropractor and Tiago had his face painted and talked to Captain America.

I got to eat at my favorite restaurant on earth, The Silly Goose on the last night that they were open for a month of renovations. The cool thing was that when we walked in I was sooo craving the cheese platter. It is soo good. When I mentioned that to James he mentioned that for money’s sake that night we better choose between the cheese or the ice cream. In an instant ice cream won. About 2 minutes later the server brought us a cheese platter and told us it was on the house. What? It seriously made my whole month. The one on the bottom left and the one to the right of it are my favorites. So yummy. Also, wine in a mason jar. Can’t be beat.

One of our best buds lives right around the corner from The Goose so we went over after dinner and a bunch of our friends were there sitting around an outdoor table with candles burning under a tree with white twinkle lights and a chandelier. Such a perfect setting. the best part was when we called another good friend who has just gotten out of the army that we have only seen a handful of times over the last few years and talked to him on speaker phone. That is what the above pic is of.

Lastly, I was more than excited to find out that James’ mom who the boys refer to as Mimi got them new lunch boxes! I had been putting all of their lunch items in separate containers for months and they eat a lot. So every night I had about 20 little tupperwares to wash individually. Now we have these super nice Planet Boxes. They are expensive, so it was amazing to receive them as a gift. Tonight there are only two containers to wash and look at how cute they are.


I know it is so silly but these little boxes are such a happy in my life right now. Thanks to Nadia, a mom who has a little girl in Tiago’s class for telling us about them.

What are the simple things that have made you smile lately?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Johanna permalink
    May 5, 2011 2:07 am

    Watching Hal play his mini piano. Not just pick it up and toss it around but sit there and hit the different keys at different speeds.

  2. May 5, 2011 2:10 am

    Aww so sweet. Go Hal. Go Hal.

  3. May 5, 2011 3:02 am

    LOVE the lunch boxes. Now if only my kids would eat all that…

  4. May 5, 2011 3:19 am

    My 19-month-old has been saying “Mommy’s” and “Daddy’s” for a couple of weeks. On Monday morning, he proclaimed, “It’s Mommy’s shoes!” as he handed me one of my heels. A few minutes later, we were outside walking to the car when he leaned down to pick up a leaf (not uncommon, that!). He rose, waved it in front of me and said, “I got a leaf!” Oh, how my heart melted at that! (He got “I got” from playing Tag: “I got you!” He’s been practicing adding articles before things for a week, but that was the first time he put the practice into a sentence.)

    Another small pleasure? I commented on someone’s post and they emailed me back starting with the statement: “When a writer of your caliber . . .” šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    I’ll take it!

    Really, though? It’s the little moments with my baby that just make me so happy for each day.

  5. Kristen permalink
    May 5, 2011 3:37 am

    Your babies are precious. And so are you.

  6. May 5, 2011 5:41 am

    I want a lunchbox like that! šŸ˜›
    As far as simple things in my life lately, I would have to say the rain while the sun was still out today. I love it when it rains and the sun is shining.

  7. Nadia permalink
    May 7, 2011 1:15 pm

    You are an awesome mommy~~~ Hope you love PlanetBox as much as I do!! Wanna pack our lunches too?? šŸ™‚

    Happy Birthday Big Boy!!!

Leave a Reply

