Skip to content

Why We Get Chiropractic Adjustments

May 12, 2011

When I was pregnant with Jude I started getting dizzy. This is scary for lots of reasons. The two main reasons being:  1. I had a baby in my tummy and 2. I had a baby on the outside of my tummy (Tiago) who I could not take care of if I was passed out on the floor. Yes, that is how bad my dizziness was. There were multiple times in a short period where I got dizzy, blacked out, fell, and found myself on the floor who knows how long later. One particular time (luckily James was home) I got dizzy, fell over, and on the way down hit my head on a door frame. Ouch. At the time James and I were both chiropractic virgins

* sidenote* except for the fact that my second cousin is a chiropractor to highly competitive race horses. I lived with her for a brief period in college and she adjusted me once on the floor in my bed room. Random, and I had no clue what she was doing or why it might be beneficial to me**

So, James and I seriously did not have any idea that getting adjusted might help. We felt kind of hopeless and did not know what to do. One day our young adult pastors were talking to us and after hearing about my dizziness suggested that we visit their chiropractor. They said it might help. My thoughts were, “really, what the heck does my back have to do with getting dizzy?” I thought that chiropractors only relieved back pain. We decided to check it out though because we trusted their opinion, and we really had no clue what to do so we were willing to try anything. Within my first few times of getting adjusted, my dizziness disappeared, and not only that, but I had been getting terrible migraines about once every three or four weeks for a few years, and I have not had one at all in the almost two years that I have been getting regular chiropractic adjustments.

One day soon I will have James give you all of the science-y research-y reasons for chiropractic. I could do it, but he is so much better with big words than I am that I think you all would enjoy hearing it from him. In a nutshell though…Our spine is so important because the nerves that run through it connect from our brain to our vital organs. So basically for your lungs to breathe and heart to beat it is extremely important that your nerves are not pinched by misalignment of the spine. If your organs are not getting the proper messages from the brain, they are obviously not functioning to their fullest potential and often that is where the beginnings of disease stem from.
Tiago started getting adjusted too. Yes, as an infant. He was about four months old at the time. He still gets adjusted about once a week. Jude got his first adjustment at just twelve hours old. Check out THIS ARTICLE on Dr. Mercola’s website written by Dr. Ben Lerner for more information on the topic of why it is important for infants to be adjusted.

The chiropractor in the photo is Dr. Josh Axe who practices in the Nashville, TN area. Check out his website and sign up for amazing newsletters with articles on health, fitness, nutrition, etc. He also does videos with amazing healthy recipes. Oh, and sorry ladies but he is no longer single, so don’t even ask me.

I plan on addressing the topic of chiropractic more on this blog so feel free to ask questions. Obviously we found it important enough to uproot our whole life, move from family and friends, and forfeit income to live on student loans and food stamps so that James could become a chiropractor and help change lives. If you need help finding a good chiropractor in your area, let me know. There are certainly a lot of quacks out there giving the profession a poor name.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 6:57 pm

    Wish it was affordable!

    • lalfarog permalink
      June 6, 2011 4:47 pm

      A lot of insurance companies actually cover chiropractic care (and even massages in a chiropractic clinic). You may want to look into it.

  2. May 12, 2011 11:07 pm

    Aw! I was there when Jude got his first adjustment!

    I find that chiropractic is an investment in my health long-term. No matter what my adjustments cost, I know I will be saving a lot more by avoiding hospital bills and drug co-pays later in life! You just can’t put a price on quality of life when it comes to your health.

    Great post Abby 🙂

  3. Amy permalink
    May 13, 2011 1:24 am

    I have been told that some insurance plans will cover chiropractic services. Does this require a GP referral?

  4. Andrew permalink
    May 13, 2011 2:45 am

    I actually met someone that was in the fifth graduating class from Life University while I was down in Alabama this past weekend. It was awesome to meet someone grandparent aged and still be practicing!

  5. May 14, 2011 2:02 am

    We LOVE our chiropractic adjustments! Both kids get adjusted. My second baby was born with shoulder dystocia (he was 10lb9oz, 24in. & a natural birth) so he needed a chiropractor! I also experienced dizziness & fainting while pregnant with him due to low blood sugar & blood pressure, the adjustments helped immensely with that along with acupuncture. Thanks for posting this and getting the word out!

  6. May 14, 2011 2:03 am

    And on a sidenote, it is much more affordable than medical care, prescription drugs, etc…where there’s a will, there’s a way! We figure it out financially because we know how crucial it is to a living a healthy lifestyle.

  7. May 15, 2011 11:59 pm

    What!? I had no idea!

    Now I want to go make an appointment…

  8. May 16, 2011 12:18 am

    @ JeLisa. It is so worth it. Look up and see if you have any Maximized Living chiropractors in your area. For as many great ones as there are out there there are just as many bad ones, so make sure you find a chiro who takes x-rays, educates you, and does not just do the same general adjustment on everyone who walks through the doors.

  9. May 16, 2011 12:20 am

    Oh and in regards to the expenses. It was definitely hard for James and I at first. We had to really adjust our whole entire budget to make it work. We are so happy that we did though. I know it is a HUGE investment in our health and finances in the future. There is no price that can be put on health and preventing diseases before they start.

Leave a Reply

