Skip to content

Even Healthier Cauliflower Mashers

May 17, 2011

So if you can make a healthy recipe even healthier and improve the taste at the same time, why wouldn’t you? That is what I asked myself this morning when I started making Dr. Josh Axe’s Mashed Faux-tatoes. I made them just like the recipe minus the chives because I did not have any. We make them all the time at our house. You may remember from a previous post that I really like to mix them with my chili. So good.

You basically just take a head of cauliflower, chop it up a bit,  lightly steam it (don’t over steam because you will begin to kill off all of the good nutrients), and then throw it in your blender or food processor with some sea salt, pepper, and a teeny bit of buttah (That is how I say it, so why not type it that way too. I am not a professional anything, so I am not going to pretend to be. Ha.)

Okay, but this time on a whim I decided to add some green stuff. Why not? I just threw in a handful of green beans, some sugar snap peas, and of course some kale. This time I used frozen kale because I was out of fresh. The result is soooooo FAB!

I mean seriously delicious. I wish that the boys had not already left for school this morning so I could put it in their lunches. Oh well they will love it tomorrow.If I wasn’t about to go work out I might even be tempted to eat the whole bowl.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

