Skip to content

Olives

May 25, 2011

Growing up my mom used to have my put black olives on my fingers and eat them off. Now she has taught Tiago and Jude how to do it. That may be part of the reason that we now buy olives in bulk at Costco. The other reason being that I simply LOOOVE them. I put them in and on like everything. It is good to know though that they have so many great benefits.

When I was in elementary school there was a pair of twins that I hung out with whose mother always kept black and green olives stocked. She knew that I would devour them when I was at their house. I think I was even caught putting them in ice cream and on pancakes. I even vaguely remember placing them in Coke (Which I will no longer touch, even with a 10 foot pole. Ask me why, I dare you.) Kind of sounds like weird pregnancy cravings. I think it is more so that I was just a strange kid but none the less the passion for olives has remained.

Perhaps it is because I am 1/4 Armenian and have Lebanese relatives as well.

What are some of the benefits?

1. High in antioxidants: which are great for your skin

2. They are an excellent source of the good fats your body needs: omega-9 fatty acids which are contained in olives are known to help lower cholesterol levels as well as promote healthy inflammation responses

3. Great source of vitamin E: a metabolism booster and cancer fighter among many other benefits

*side note* It is always going to be better to get your vitamins from a natural food source as opposed to a grocery store brand of cheap supplements. More on this in the future. Hold me to it.

What do I do with them?

Sooo many things. Seriously. I love eating them plain. But I also put them on salads, put them on pizza, and eat them as a tapenade. I have never made one myself but here is a recipe for it that I would like to try sometime soon. It sounds so easy and has capers in it too and I love capers as well.

What is your favorite way to use olives?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 5:40 am

    PIZZAAAAAA! NOM NOM NOM NOM.

  2. Tina @ vanillandspice permalink
    May 26, 2011 1:38 am

    I’m crazy about olives. I hated them up until a year ago and now I use them all the time.
    They’re definitely the best on pizza!

  3. June 2, 2011 7:38 pm

    Love Olives! Nice Post.

Trackbacks

  1. Tricked Them Again « With A Freshness

Leave a Reply

