Skip to content

Kale and Squash Spaghetti Sauce

June 5, 2011

James and I took the boys to the Dekalb Farmers Market yesterday. The goal was to come away with some tubs of coconut oil because that is where we can get it the cheapest, but unfortunately they had none. They said there would be more today. Oh, well. We did get some other goodies. One thing in particular was some buckwheat spaghetti. I decided to make it last night. I also had some squash and kale that needed to be used so this is what I did:

boiled these for 3 minutes.

Threw a tomato, some mushrooms, kale, 1 entire squash, 1 tablespoon of pesto, and about 1 ounce of raw white cheddar cheese in blender. Mix it up.

Heat it on the stove, and in the meantime I had a couple of free range organic chicken breasts cooking on a different eye of the stove in just a touch of grapeseed oil with some oregano, italian seasoning, sea salt, and pepper.

Final product: buckwheat pasta topped with kale/squash sauce with italian seasoned chicken and musrooms, with a tiny bit of sore bought marinara on top (just to add some more tomato flavor) and of course a side of something green! It was really delicious. We also had the left overs for lunch today and it was still just as good! Tiago loved it too!

Also, if you want an even healthier option for pasta you can buy a spiralizer…

We bought one for really cheap on Amazon a few months ago. We often spiralize zucchini and make pasta sauces to go on top of it. Here is a pic of one of the first ones I made.

This was before I sauced it. I will be sure to take a pic of the sauce next time too. It is really good though!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Van Zyl permalink
    June 5, 2011 8:35 pm

    THis is so cool, we will definitely be trying this out! Thanks for the directions! It looks amazing!

  2. Victoria permalink
    June 5, 2011 9:48 pm

    You might want to check amazon for the coconut oil. They had an awesome deal on it including free shipping if you did the subscribe and save thing. You can always cancel the subscription after your order ships if you want to. 🙂 thanks for stopping by my blog.

  3. June 6, 2011 1:15 pm

    The pasta sauce looks so good. I love making kale pesto so I’m sure I would love this.
    Great recipe.

  4. June 6, 2011 2:04 pm

    Wow… this looks tasty and healthy. Kale seems to be a cheaper alternative to basil, but the flavor is probably a lot different. ^^

    Buckwheat noodles must be hard to find, though… I can’t imagine anyone in my neck of the woods would sell them. Would whole wheat pasta be a viable substitute? I’ve only had buckwheat pancakes, so I’m not really sure what they taste like.

  5. June 7, 2011 2:25 pm

    I love adding different foods to pasta–it is amazing how easy and delicious this can be! Last night we did garlic in olive oil with spinach and red peppers. The kids even loved it!

  6. gabe10 permalink
    June 9, 2011 8:44 pm

    I hate buying new junk, but I must say that that spiralizer looks very useful…

  7. June 10, 2011 4:21 pm

    Yum that veggie sauce looks great, I’ve never thought to make a sauce with those ingredients! I have a spiralizer…I keep forgetting about it! I’ll have to try the sauce with some zucchini noodles!

Leave a Reply

