Skip to content

USDA “My Plate”

June 7, 2011

This is the USDA’s new tool for helping people, especially children eat “healthy”. Oh wow. I meant to do a post on this the day it came out and totally forgot until now. The thing is, I really like the concept. I think it is much better than a pyramid. Most Americans eat 3 meals a day. And for those of you who eat 4-6 small meals a day this could still be applied. IF ONLY IT WERE HEALTHY PROPORTIONS!

I am not a scientist, nutritionist, or professional anything but my common sense is pretty keen. I can not possibly understand why anyone would think that you need equal amounts of fruits, veggies, grains, and protein. Fruit=sucralose/sugar. Yes, fruit is certainly the best option for something sweet, but YES you can also have too much fruit. I know that sounds foreign to some people, but it is true. I think the best rule of thumb is to always make sure that the majority of your plate or meal container is vegetables of some sort. Try to keep it green or orange. Color is key. If you are going to do grains be choosy. Try and stick with ancient grains like quinoa, Ezekiel breads, etc. Things that are made to break down easily in the body and won’t slow you down. I would suggest that you stay away from ANY and ALL white breads, pastas, rices, pastries, etc. because they quickly break down to sugar in your body. No bueno. Also, dairy is really hard on the body too. Raw dairy is the way to go if you are going to have it at all. Pasteurized dairy has been heated so high that the important nutrients are gone. It is also linked to a lot of health problems.

Here are some plates with a little bit different proportions than the one above.

Obviously, this is just my opinion. What is your opinion of the new USDA plate?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 1:48 pm

    Abby, your food always makes me so jealous. I agree with you. I love the concept. For the average person to eat better than they do now, bravo. But for people who know better and know about real food, it certainly isn’t enough. Great post!

  2. June 7, 2011 2:27 pm

    I know this is incredibly cynical, but I can’t really put a whole lot of faith in the USDA for what “healthy” should be. I see that plate and think about who all has their hands in the USDA already (the milk industry, major seed companies for grains, etc.). To me that plate looks more like an advertisement than an actual piece of helpful guideline/ info.

    But it is way better than the old food pyramid, so at least it will help some get a little better on their proportions. I like your “plates” that you have much better, though 🙂 I guess we are past the point of doing what the government says is best. We just have to take responsibility for our own (like you were talking about with your previous post).

    Ok, off my soapbox now:) thanks for the post!

  3. Kalli permalink
    June 8, 2011 2:58 am

    my opinion is that they feed us garbage literally and figuritively so we buy what they want us to buy……..thanks for commenting on my blog-love your input!

  4. June 10, 2011 7:04 pm

    At first I was nervous when the government announced a change in the food pyramid but I think they did a pretty good job. Kids could eat better in school if they just eliminated foods such as chips and french fries. If kids are hungry enough, they will eventually snack on an apple or whole wheat crackers.

    I like your pictures of examples of healthy food & serving size. Keep up the great job!

  5. June 13, 2011 12:50 pm

    i’m with eryn. also abby i wanted to pass on this link i found alarming. the finding is from may 2011: http://www.ewg.org/release/us-scientists-find-bpa-most-canned-foods

  6. July 4, 2011 8:24 am

    I find that people are always looking for a ‘fix’…I still go through my cycles when I am feeling under the weather, bloated, heavy in the gut..or whatever. I question everything and always hope to figure out the problem in a matter of minutes! I do know that sticking to healthy, natural foods is the best way to go. The more processed, the more chance that your body is having a hard time digesting it! I know that is the case with me. I try to give my kids the healthier options in a fun way so they are more inclined to make those choices on their own when asked what they would like to eat. It is not always a winning battle, but I think that there is a difference between canned fruit in syrup as compared to a fresh banana! Hopefully the new ‘pyramid’ helps out, but it really isn’t giving any ideas of what KINDS of items to fill on that plate! Many people have different ideas as to what can ‘count’ as a veggie 😉

Leave a Reply

