Skip to content

Easy PEA-sy Homemade Baby Food

February 14, 2011

Yes, I make my own baby food and you can too. Yes, it obviously takes more time than just running to the store and buying it. But it is a value of mine so I make time for it. The boys both started eating baby food at six months old. The first food we fed them was avocado. From there I began choosing one vegetable at a time. I would lightly steam it and then throw it in the blender with nothing added. A month or so later I began mixing two or three vegetables. Now a days I just throw whatever I have into the Vita-Mix. Tiago is almost two and he still eats the blended food. He mainly eats bigger food that he can hold himself and does well with a spoon and a fork, but at least once a day I will put blended veggies in a bowl for him. He will either eat it with a spoon or dip something else into it like a sweet potato or broccoli. I love it. He dips something healthy into something healthy and thinks he is “big-stuff”. Here is what I made this morning.

Started with a butternut squash. Cut it up, put it in the the oven at 350 for about 40-45 minutes.

In the meantime, I threw some greens in a steamer for just about 5 minutes. Today it was peas, green beans, spinach, and a tiny bit of onion.

Once the squash came out of the oven I threw about half of the squash, all of the greens, and a touch of sea salt in the Vita-Mix. before blending I decided to add one of these:

An some of these beans that I jar myself. Buying bagged beans is way cheaper than buying cans. All you have to do is throw them in the crock pot. My friend, Lori gives you the three easy steps to beans on her super awesome blog.

 

Then blend it all up.

Blended to perfection.

Final Product.

Try not to end up with one of these. I took a nice chunk out of my finger while cutting my squash today. I do it all the time, so you would think I would be a pro by now.

What are your kids favorite foods that you make?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 4:09 am

    Um, is it okay that I want to eat this??
    Love it, Abby! Keep it coming!

    • February 15, 2011 2:36 pm

      Ha ha. Occasionally, I will get some on my finger and just eat it. I mean it is REAL food so it tastes REAL good. Tiago and Jude killed 2 jars of this last night!

  2. February 15, 2011 4:10 am

    Ps you are the awesomest!

  3. natalie permalink
    February 16, 2011 1:20 am

    um you are awesome and my inspiration, i totally want to make baby food for my kids, i eat all of those items on my own!
    thanks for new ideas 🙂 keep them coming!
    also i’d like to know how your body does on kale because i was eating it everyday in smoothies and my stomach was not happy.

    • February 16, 2011 2:38 am

      Natalie, you are too kind. About the kale, we do it in smoothies too. I have one every morning for breakfast. Are you taking any probiotics or digestive enzymes? That might help. What are you doing something else in your smoothies now besides kale? What kind were you doing? We do the really dark kale. I don’t like the taste of the light green kind. On days if we run out of it we just throw in a few big handfuls of spinach.

Leave a comment