Skip to content

Delicious Healthy Fried Chicken

March 20, 2011

If you read my post on guilty pleasures then you know I like Chik-Fil-A enough to eat a whole catering tray of nuggets at one time. About a year ago I found a recipe to make from home that comes closest to meeting my desire for Chik-Fil-A.Though it is called coconut chicken it doesn not have to taste like coconut. We are always sure to use high quality organic free-range chicken without antibiotics or hormones. If you are going to eat meat it needs to be high quality. If you are eating poor quality meat and trying to be healthy I would say it is counter productive. If you have questions on that topic feel free to ask.

Coconut Chicken:

1st you put some coconut flour in a bowl and add whatever seasonings you want. I add curry powder, basil, sea salt, pepper, paprika, turmeric, a little bit of chili powder, and a tiny bit of ginger or cinnamon. I pretty much never measure anything. When I am in the kitchen it always tends to go like, “hmmm a little bit of this, a lot of this, dash of that”. Stir it up. Cut up your chicken breasts. Last night I made four so that James and I would have extra to eat either today or tomorrow. I cut my chicken into little nuggets and then put it in the flour. I don’t add eggs or anything to the flour mixture. I like them lightly covered. Make sure each piece is covered. Then heat up about a tablespoon and a half of coconut oil in a frying pan before putting the chicken in it. When the first side is done, flip each piece over. At this point I squeeze some lime slices over the chicken and then put them in the pan. I also cut up a jalapeno and throw it in the pan too. Then drizzle a tiny bit of local honey over it while it finishes cooking. For two breasts if I had to guess I used about a half of a teaspoon. Then you are done. it is oh so yummy. If you want them to have more of a coconut flavor roll them in coconut flakes. We make this chicken all of the time and love it with or without the flakes.

I also made our first batch of homemade salsa in a while. I used to make it two or three times a week. I just threw tomatoes, cilantro, one jalapeno, lime, sea salt, pepper, and chili powder in a blender and mixed it up. It was perfect and so fresh! I thought you also might enjoy seeing the disaster that is my kitchen after cooking. If we had an extra room in our apartment right now as well as a ton of money I would be taking applications for a live-in-dishwasher. Yes, I have a dish washing machine but it is the whole pre-rinsing and putting them in the dishwasher that drives me nuts. But if being healthy, living longer, and having a higher quality of life are important the dishes are a small task or the road to an optimum lifestyle. James and I take turns.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    March 20, 2011 2:37 pm

    I have to admit I might even try this one Sis! Sounds very islandy! I’m in the mood for some beachy tasting food. Could u use that same breading with shrimp or fish?

  2. March 20, 2011 9:14 pm

    Looks yummy, I’m going to definitely try this!

  3. Amber permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:45 am

    My salsa doesn’t look right. Any ideas foodie genius? I think I made tomato vomit.

  4. Sarah @ Eat Live Austin permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:12 am

    I never really measure anything either! Thankfully things usually turn out OK. That chicken looks sooo delicious

  5. Amber porter permalink
    March 24, 2011 4:56 pm

    Same stuff u listed but looks icky.

  6. davidavalentina permalink
    April 5, 2011 7:34 am

    Love the look of this!

Leave a comment